10 Books Not To Read Before You Die

According to Times Online, these are the books you should skip during this lifetime:

10: Ulysses – James Joyce
9: Lord of the Rings – J R R Tolkien
8: For Whom the Bell Tolls – Ernest Hemingway
7: À la Recherche du Temps Perdu – Marcel Proust
6: The Dice Man – Luke Reinhart
5: Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas – Hunter S Thompson
4: The Beauty Myth – Naomi Wolff
3: War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
2: The Iliad — Homer
1: Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

Taken From Can’t Be Arsed: 101 Things Not to Do Before You Die by Richard Wilson

I’ll probably do as the list says (not ‘cos the list says so but because I happen to not be interested in those books too) except no. 1.

Just wondering, do they have bookshops or libraries in the afterworld? ‘Cos, you know, I might be interested in them after I die. 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Josette
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 13:36:52

    I didn’t enjoy reading Pride and Prejudice either. Too long-winded for me. I think I haven’t tried Emma yet although I enjoyed watching the film starring Gwyneth Paltrow. As for War and Peace, I don’t know when I’ll get to it! There’re other better things to read now. 🙂

    nylusmilk: yup, but i definitely want to give it another try. even though long-winded, i thought it was quite witty. 🙂 exactly! so many book, so little time…

    Reply

Leave a comment