Twilight is for twits (sorry to say)

I just finished the last book of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga and I just feel so strongly about the four books I’ve read in a bid to understand why is it so popular.

First, I must say that they were very easy to read, making them seem almost like page-turners. I practically flipped through Twilight and New Moon.

When I hit Eclipse that’s where it started to go downhill. I can’t remember the plot, but I remember thinking what’s the point of book number three?

Breaking Dawn really topped it. The way Jacob transferred his love by imprinting (speaking of which, I find the concept of imprinting quite silly – something about that term just doesn’t make sense to me) on Bella’s daughter, Renesmee, is just too ludicrous for me.

Okay, if I would suspend reality, this is a supernatural romance, therefore one might conclude it will have an unusual couple. Like a 200-year-old Angel falling for 17-year-old Buffy. But older men fall for younger women all the time. I’ve never heard of a man falling for the daughter of a woman he used to love. It’s not incest but it feels like a tinge of it to me.

I find Bella a terrible protagonist. She seemed nice, but there’s nothing much special about her until she became a vampire and acquired supernatural abilities. Before that, the way she brooded when she thought she lost Edward was just so off-putting for a protagonist. Even if you don’t really get over who you think was the love of your life, everyone needs to move on. I understand that it’s a heartbreaking thing to happen, but did the author need to make her suffer for that loooong?

Speaking of which, the books were highly long-winded despite being easy to read. Long-winded and has a really bad tendency to exaggerate. Every negative feeling described on the books seemed to be using adjectives like agony and excruciating – and this was only to describe emotional pain, which happened almost all the time in the books. Come on, how often can you feel excruciating emotional pain?

The climax of Breaking Dawn was so anti-climactic. Almost 100 people gather, prepared to fight and die, and in the end only one person is killed? There was no fight at all, just lots of talking. Yap, yap, yap… okay, no fight. Happily ever after. The end. Such a typical girly, idealistic, unrealistic plot.

Urgh. I probably offend many Twilight fans by my review, but this is just my personal opinion. I can’t stand what Twilight stands for.

Update: Read this instead of Twilight. It’s a better read, I assure you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jann
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 09:41:54

    I couldn’t agree more.

    nylusmilk: have you read the books or watch the movies? i wonder how are the movies like.

    Reply

  2. kathy
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 12:56:26

    That bad ya….hmmm…

    nylusmilk: you read the books? if not, don’t try!

    Reply

  3. Josette
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 17:52:26

    omg, I was laughing while reading your ‘review’ of the Twilight series. No doubt it’s one of the popular series of YA books in the world (am I exaggerating here??) but yeah, it’s been a mystery to me sometimes about why it’s so popular in the first place.

    I haven’t read Breaking Dawn yet. The thickness of the book sets me off now even though I know it’ll be easy to read. I hope it’ll be better than New Moon at least, cos it (NM) was my least favourite of the first three books.

    nylusmilk: oh, if you didn’t like new moon you will hate breaking dawn. i borrowed these books from my friend, so the only thing i wasted was my time but not my dime, thankfully!

    Reply

  4. Jann Howell
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 11:41:46

    I read the books, and saw the first two movies. The books are better.

    nylusmilk: serious? i kind of want to watch them just to see how awful they really are, knowing full well i’m gonna waste my time anyway.😛

    Reply

  5. Bookathon
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 02:21:22

    Thanks for this honest review! I work with young people so I am quite curious about the vampire phenomenon sweeping across the world.

    I didn’t mind the thickness of the Harry Potter series but these thick novels are not that appealing. Mention the word “incest” and I’m recoiling as I would with Virginia Andrews’ “Flowers in the Attic”…

    nylusmilk: you’re really not missing anything by skipping this series. i’m not sure if it’s incest but it borders on that to me. i just can’t comprehend how after you fall in love with a woman, you can somehow find love again… with her daughter.😕

    Reply

  6. Anne Julie
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 02:51:26

    I agree with you..The first movie had more action then all of the books.
    waste of time!

    nylusmilk: i haven’t the chance to watch any of the movies but if i do i will watch to compare.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

