To Sir, With Love – E. R. Braithwaite

erb

E.R. Braithwaite was born 1922 in British Guiana and educated in British Guiana and the United States. He served in the R.A.F. His publications include To Sir with Love (1959); Paid Servant: A Report About Welfare Work in London (1962); A Kind of Home-coming: A Visit to Africa (1963); A Choice of Straws (1965).

The book in one sentence: A man who takes up a teaching post and teaches his students about overcoming racial prejudice.

Who would you recommend it to: Someone who is looking for a good old-fashioned feel-good read.

OK bits: I like the inspirational true story of this book.

Boring bits: The beginning was a bit dull, but it picked up when he started teaching his class.

Random review quote:

“A book that the reader devours quickly, ponders slowly, and forgets not at all… Moving and inspiring” – New York Times

Verdict: I did not realise To Sir, With Love is actually a true story, or a book in the first place! I saw the movie a few months ago and I enjoyed it. The book is as good as the movie, though I could have said the book is better if I read it first before watching the movie. A good read nonetheless! Pretty quick too as it’s a slim book.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachael Spears
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 05:06:59

    this book was one of my favorties in the whole wide wold


    nylusmilk: i can see why, it’s a really heartwarming story.

    Reply

  2. museditions
    Apr 11, 2009 @ 16:34:11

    I didn’t know it was a novel! 😳 I saw the film six times, and while some aspects are a little dated, now, it had a profound effect on me. While I may not agree with all of “Sir’s” rules, the story shows how each of us deserves dignity and respect. Must read now!

    nylusmilk: hehe, you too huh? yeah, he’s a little stiff and old-fashioned to me (like calling the girls ‘miss’ but just their surnames for the boys) but he’s a good man at heart. he writes beautifully too.

    Reply

  3. Sabrina Jagmohan
    May 24, 2011 @ 03:56:37

    I like your book it tells me enough about the relation between a student and a teacher how it should be.

    Reply

  4. avik
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 23:43:22

    wonderful book.with good bits and bytes.a must read book

    Reply

  5. M.P
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 07:00:51

    I saw this movie as a young girl and fell for Sidney Poitier. I have seen it numerous times and I still enjoy it. I became a teacher and often try have that kind of profound effect on my students. I still am mad about Sidney.

    Reply

  6. Vance Garnett
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 03:26:49

    Having been privileged to meet and spend some time with E. R. Braithwaite here
    in Washington, D.C., I can say without hesitation or doubt that actor Sidney Poitier
    was indebted to the author not only for a brilliant book/script, but also for a clear representation of character and mannerisms upon which, as actor, he could draw.
    “To Sir With Love” is a finely crafted work.
    Since Braithwaite has lived in Washington’s Cleveland Park so many years, I think he should be considered a Washington writer along with George Pelecanos and others who write explicitly about the capital city.

    Reply

  7. Kimberly Tiong
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 12:26:06

    OMG!! I didn’t know this was a real story! But still, it was very touching and it touched my heart. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Malone Nyatlo
    Apr 16, 2016 @ 03:03:59

    An absorbing read indeed, enjoyed by my learners in the throes of post-apartheid South Africa. Only strong characters can go through E.R’s ordeals and emerge triumphant!

    Reply

Leave a comment