The Grudge Plant

I like how Blake relates how grudges can grow like plants. But sometimes, when I tell my friend my wrath, things changed between us even though my wrath did end. Most of the time I don’t say anything to my friend.

The Poison Tree

I was angry with my friend:
I told my wrath, my wrath did end.
I was angry with my foe;
I told it not, my wrath did grow.

And I water’d it in fears,
Night & morning with my tears;
And I sunned it with my smiles
And with soft deceitful wiles.

And it grew both day and night,
Till it bore an apple bright;
And my foe beheld it shine,
And he knew that it was mine,

And into my garden stole
When the night had veil’d the pole:
In the morning glad I see
My foe outstretch’d beneath the tree

William Blake

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. museditions
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 03:21:19

    Wow! Great poem; great imagery, but scary! I would tell my wrath—but not to the friend I’m wrathful with, but to myself, or a trusted confident. Once I get over it, the other person seems better, too. I don’t think I’d find my friend beneath the tree!

    nylusmilk: yeah! letting it out on your own works best for everybody, but sometimes it doesn’t, at least for me. but i won’t find my friend or my enemy beneath my poison tree. i don’t think i’m that extreme!

    Reply

  2. Ladytink_534
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 03:24:06

    Wow now that’s a poem! I’ll have to go write it down.

    nylusmilk: or bookmark this page?😉 hehe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

