Johnny Tremain – Esther Forbes

ef

The book in one sentence: A story about the Boston Tea Party and the war with the British after that.

Who would you recommend it to: People who are interested in reading a story with a historical setting. The war theme may interest boy readers, but girl readers who are open to various genres could like this too.

OK bits: The protagonist, Johnny Tremain, is a great character. I like his attitude, even his flaws, and how from an accident that changed his life, did not even matter anymore as he moved on to his new job and role as a spy of sorts for the Boston rebels.

Boring bits: I finally understood what the Boston Tea Party was about, but I still don’t quite get the details of it and the war after that.

Random review quote:

“This is Esther Forbes at her brilliant best… Johnny may well take his place with Jim Hawkins, Huck Finn and other young immortals…” – Book Week

Verdict: I’m surprised I managed to finish this book, although it took me much longer than usual. I’m also surprised that I actually enjoyed the book, at least some parts of it. I think this is often used as a literature text in middle and high schools. If I were made to read this book for class, I know I’d have hated it, like I did with Jane Eyre!