15 Books for 1 Year Meme

Rules: What 15 books would you take with you on a year-long stay on a godforsaken isle with no Internet and no bookstores?

The isle I’m imagining sounds like a remote heaven. I’m not sure if I will be reading all 15 books – there would probably be too many beautiful sites around it to explore. That said, I’d bring the tomes along just in case.

1. Jilly Cooper’s Score! or Wicked!
Long drawn-out chick lit with hilarious puns and colourful characters. It’s like reading a soap opera.

2. Jostein Gaarder’s Sophie’s World
I’ve been meaning to complete reading this book. Hopefully the island would put me in a pensive mood enough to enjoy a philosophical read like this.

3. Alexander McCall Smith’s The 2½ Pillars of Wisdom: The Von Igelfeld Trilogy
It’s well-written comic, just what I need when I’m feeling homesick or some entertainment.

4. Malba Tahan’s The Man Who Counted: A Collection of Mathematical Adventures
This book has a special significance to me, but that aside, it is a pretty interesting read. The title kind of says it all.

5. Roald Dahl’s My Uncle Oswald
My favourite author, I just have to take one of his books, haven’t I? I chose this because it’s bawdy – I figured I prefer books that crack me up over the ones that make me cry.

6. S. E. Hinton’s The Outsiders
What I said before this does not apply to one of my all-time favourite books. I never fail to cry when I read the hospital scene.

7. Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle
This is the ultimate romantic book for me. I’m sure that godforsaken isle will put me in the mood for this anytime.

8. Alexandra Ripley’s Scarlett: The Sequel to Margaret Mitchell’s “Gone With the Wind”
A real blockbuster historical romance. I much prefer this sequel to the thousand-page-odd classic.

9. Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None
Set on an island, so it’s rather fitting that I read this while stuck on an isle, right? Or maybe ill-fitting, since the story ends with everybody on the island dead!

10. Daniel Keyes’ Flowers for Algernon
A beautiful sci-fi novel. A real tearjerker, but one that makes me cry in a good way!

11. China Miéville’s Un Lun Dun
A great YA fantasy I’ve discovered this year. I would love to reread it again, I’m sure.

12. Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian
Another great YA read complete with funny illustrations.

13. Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book
Yet another awesome YA book but hey, I need good books to last me through a year in a godforsaken isle right?

14. Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife
I’m just throwing this in, can’t think of what other good books to bring.

15. An empty notebook
For me to jot down my days at the isle.🙂

What about you? What 15 books would you bring to a godforsaken island?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathy
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 22:03:46

    5. Roald Dahl’s My Uncle Oswald
    My favourite author, I just have to take one of his books, haven’t I? I chose this because it’s bawdy – I figured I prefer books that crack me up over the ones that make me cry.

    this a a great book😀

    nylusmilk: yeah, so sampat and hilarious! i wish he had written more adult novels, not just short stories.

    Reply

  2. christinejalleh
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 02:10:58

    Nice meme! I have a number of dog-eared books I read and read again and again. I think there are about 10. If I were stuck on an island with my kids, I guess their books would make up the other 5😉

    I haven’t read many of Dahl’s children’s books. If you like his adult books, check out “Tales of the Unexpected”. Creepy but shows how good a writer he is!

    “My Uncle Oswald” sounds nice – gonna add that to my TBR list😀

    nylusmilk: i’ve read almost all his books, including the one you mentioned. and yes, they’re macabre but totally good.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

