Book Jacket: A Review

I recently bought a book jacket after stumbling upon it while browsing at a chain bookstore. It was very expensive at RM29.90, in my opinion. However, I love books and accessories to do with them are hard to find in Malaysia, other than bookmarks. Besides, I like the floral pattern so it didn’t take too long to have me convinced that I want this.

PA060008

This is how it looks like open flat on the outside. It is meant to fit standard paperback-sized books. As paperback books have different sizes, this jacket only fits the smaller or medium-sized ones, not the bigger ones. As I mostly buy paperbacks and I prefer the smaller versions, this jacket fits many books on my bookshelf.

PA060007

This is how it looks like open flat on the inside. On the left side the flap is sewn up, but on the right side the flap is adjustable according to the book’s size. The elastic bands help to hold the flap in place. The diagonal ribbon in the middle is a designated bookmark.

PA060006

This is how it looks like when the book jacket is wrapping a book. Initially, I thought this is an innovative but impractical idea, as the flimsy cover of the paperback might be damaged from being wrapped by the cloth book jacket. Which is true to an extent – this is not something you want to use with a brand new paperback or a book you greatly cherish. I’m currently using the jacket on a book borrowed from a library.😛

The longer I use it, though, the more fond I am of it. The flap makes the book cover slightly heavier and it helps in keeping the book open slightly better. Also, it is great for keeping bits and pieces of paper – I’m always keeping notes in my books, whether it’s a shopping list or a to-do list. And it does protect the book in some ways. For instance, I don’t have to worry about wet surfaces. The book jacket is machine washable, of course.

The book jacket is made by Positive Ideas and they have a website here, but it seems to be down at the moment. It’s a local company that makes cute gifts, like bookmarks and notepads and the like.

Would you buy a book jacket?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Josette
    Oct 10, 2009 @ 18:19:45

    Ooh, that’s pricey! But it’s worth it if you can keep your books looking brand new with it. Thanks for recommending the website. Can’t wait for it to be up and running.

    nylusmilk: doesn’t seem to be up and running. before this when it was still working there was very minimal info in it. i sent an enquiry asking about their products and they never got back to me.😐 anyway, i’m not sure if it keeps my brand new books looking brand new, but it sure helps with the non-brand new books from being damaged further.😛 plus it maintains a little privacy ‘cos nobody knows what you’re reading!

    Reply

  2. museditions
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 13:43:31

    I have two bookcovers; one is the size of yours, and one fits hardbacks and large paperbacks. Neither one is as nice as yours; my small one is plain black, and the large one is plaid! I got them initially when I used to ride the bus a lot, and didn’t want other people to know what I was reading. I’m a private person. Now I use them if I’m going to be out a lot doing various things, and finding a few minutes here and there to read.

    Yours is really pretty!

    nylusmilk: thanks, that’s why i bought it, hehe.🙂 i might just get one if there’s a pretty-looking one in a bigger size – it is quite useful while on the go, as you said!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

