For the Listless Bookworms

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while you’d know I love lists. Especially ones of books!

This site is the mother of all book lists! There’s a list called Books that Make You Re-Think Happiness and it’s a list of books that explores on the subject of happiness. Then there’s one called More Books… About Books! which is really about books that talk about books in general. I’d like a similar list for fiction, as in a list of fiction that has books as part of the plot, such as Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale.

This site is great if you like to read books on a specific subject and want to know what are the good titles. Saves you time searching around the bookstore or asking the retail exec at the shop, because it’s quite unlikely the employee would know what to recommend for genres s/he isn’t familiar with. That’s my pet peeve with customers at bookshops – asking for recommendations (unless it’s a genre I’m familiar with) or asking for books that deal with a specific subject. I had one asking me if we have a shelf where we just stock books only on vampires. -_-

Another whopper of a list is this 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. To help you along, some people created a spreadsheet for it! I love lists but I don’t think I want my reading to be dictated by something like this – I won’t be able to finish it anyway!

And on another site, there’s a list of books that you shouldn’t read. Which are:

* White Noise by Don DeLillo
* Absalom, Absalom by William Faulkner
* One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
* The Road by Cormac McCarthy
* The Rainbow by D. H. Lawrence
* On the Road by Jack Kerouac
* The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
* The USA Trilogy by John Dos Passos
* Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf
* A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

If you want to know why, read on here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. museditions
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 06:43:04

    I like the title of this post! “Listless” — good one.
    I did want to know why I shouldn’t read those books (some of which I had). Humph! Snooty! (Not you, the columnist.)😉
    I liked the happiness list! (of course!), but I was too scared to read the 1001 books list!😯

    nylusmilk: hehe, puns are fun, i always say. haha, honestly, i didn’t read the article because i don’t think i want to read any of the books in the list too!😛 i might want to read the dickens one, though.

    haha, same here! that was really too much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

