The Twenty Questions Book Meme (And Then Some More)

1. What author do you own the most books by?
Roald Dahl, who is my favourite author and never fails to entertain with his writing!

2. What book do you own the most copies of?
I only keep single copies of books I like, but I did pick up an extra copy of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee and I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith from book sales. They were going pretty cheap for such great reads.

3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Not really.

4. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Err, nobody? He’s not real at the end of the day!

5. What book have you read the most times in your life?
The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton? I think so. That’s one of my favourite books.

6. What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
Can’t remember but I think I reread many of my Enid Blyton books.

7. What is the worst book you’ve read?
The most recent was Holly McQueen’s The Glamorous (Double) Life of Isabel Bookbinder. Shudder.

8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Hard to pick. A good book was Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale. The book that entertained me the most was Bootleg by Alex Shearer. A book that inspired me was Paul Arden’s It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want to Be.

9. If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
Bootleg by Alex Shearer. It’s really fun!

10. Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?
Roald Dahl? But I’m biased, haha.

11. What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley, which is the sequel to Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind.

12. What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
Err, none? I like to watch movies, even if it’s only to compare how the book was so much better.😀

13. Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
None that I can recall.

14. What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
I read lowbrow books all the time. My favourite genres are young adult and chick lit, some people might think it’s shallow to read such genres.

15. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
The Lord of the Rings trilogy. I got through book one and two, but gave up in three.

16. What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
Shakespeare is not my cup of tea!

17. Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
French, I suppose. I rather learn French than Russian as it is!

18. Roth or Updike?
Neither.

19. David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Neither!

20. Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
If you force me to choose, I’d say Shakespeare reluctantly.

21. Austen or Eliot?
I suppose Austen, even though I haven’t finished Pride and Prejudice. Yet.

22. What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I haven’t had a gap as such, as I’m always reading something, but sometimes I do take a while to finish a book if it’s difficult to read. That said, nothing embarrasing about that – just makes reading seem arduous!

23. What is your favorite novel?
Gah, how to choose just one? One of them would be S. E. Hinton’s The Outsiders, which I’ve said like a million times for every meme that asks a similar question.

24. Play?
I don’t fancy plays or drama, so none.

25. Poem?
I’m not much into poetry either, but I like Wordsworth’s She Dwelt Among the Untrodden Ways.

26. Essay?
Who reads essays? I don’t so I don’t have any that I like.

27. Short story?
Roald Dahl’s ones, of course!

28. Work of non-fiction?
I like to read biographies of famous people, trashy or otherwise.

29. Who is your favorite writer?
Roald Dahl, duh. (This meme is really kinda long!)

30. Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
Cecelia Ahern. I am not one of those who squealed over PS I Love You.

31. What is your desert island book?
I don’t know yet but it has to be a big tome of a book. Probably a Jilly Cooper novel. It’s gonna be my sole source of entertainment if I were on a desert island, after all!

32. And … what are you reading right now?
Beginner’s Greek by James Collins. Kinda draggy but I’ve just only started. I take a while before I get into a story for most books.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. libraryliz
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 05:07:46

    Oh, I love Capture the Castle so much. It was a birthday gift about 6 years ago, maybe more. I’d never heard of it and it quickly became one of my favorites.

    nylusmilk: i know, it’s a lovely story! very dreamy and sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

