The Joy of Reading Your First Book

I don’t remember when I could read my first book, but I don’t think I was all elated about it, haha. But if I had my own child and s/he could finally do that, I’d feel a lot like this, except the difference in pronoun of course.

My Book

I did it!
I did it!
Come and look
At what I’ve done!
I read a book!
When someone wrote it
Long ago
For me to read,
How did he know
That this was the book
I’d take from the shelf
And lie on the floor
And read by myself?
I really read it!
Just like that!
Word by word,
From first to last!
I’m sleeping with
This book in bed,
This first FIRST book
I’ve ever read!

David L. Harrison

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. museditions
    Apr 30, 2009 @ 02:30:05

    We have a series of books here called “I can read it all by myself!”; books for kids just learning to read. This poem reminds me of that. Very joyful and excited! I don’t remember my first book, either. I wonder if anyone does?

    nylusmilk: yes, so innocent in its happiness!🙂 i don’t think so, but if i ever have my own kid i would love to record that moment in time and recount it to him/her later on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

