Stupid Bookish Quotes

Taken from here are some of my ‘favourites’.­čść

(phone call)

I found a book “—” on your web site. It was written by my Uncle. I was wondering why it is so expensive? ($50)

– It was inscribed and signed by him.

Why should I have to pay for his autograph? He’s my Uncle, not yours!

A very nice, well-appointed lady spends about an hour browsing the stock, including the locked cases. After building a rather formidable stack of unrelated books worth over $3,500 (including some very scarce Mark Twain first editions), I couldn’t resist asking:

What do you collect?

– Oh nothing, but I will purchase these.

(My curiosity getting the better of me) A gift?

– No. I am going to use them to decorate my daughter’s bathroom.

(Silly me! I failed to notice that the books were all various shades of green. This is a good thing, since the books will soon be color-coordinated with the mold).

(Two women discussing Toni Morrison’s “Paradise”)

Have you read it yet?

– Well, I’m reading it now, but I only read it five pages at a time.

Why’s that?

– Well, I don’t want to buy it, so I have to keep going back to Barnes & Nobel to read it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ladytink_534
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 16:04:06

    Lol. These are good but the last one is the best! Poor woman probably hasn’t heard of the marvelous invention known as the library…

    nylusmilk: maybe barnes and noble is nearer?­čść in some countries, the libraries are atrociously inadequate. if such, going to the bookshop to read can be quite understandable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

