Why I Read

1. To escape
It’s nice to be able to live life through another person, or rather, character. It’s like inhabiting a different soul.

2. To learn
I don’t really read for knowledge, but if I’m interested in a topic and chance upon a book, I’d read it to learn more about that topic. Even better if it’s fiction, because then I’d learn in a more entertaining way.

3. To pass the time
Waiting is time much better spent with reading. That’s why I always bring a book wherever I go – you never know when you have to wait!

4. To enjoy

Reading certain genres is fun, like watching the idiot box. You don’t learn much from these sort of books, like chick lit. At least, you don’t consciously learn. I think every book has a lesson to offer and sometimes we may not know if we have absorbed that!

5. To de-stress
Since reading is a form of escapism, it helps me to unwind as well. When I was a student, my reading rate usually picks up when the exams are approaching! I don’t think I was de-stressing as much as I was avoiding reading boring books, though.😀

6. To do something I’m good at
Many people dislike reading because they find it boring, but I also suspect it’s because they don’t have a large enough vocabulary to enjoy what the writer is trying to impart. My vocabulary is not that large, either, and most of the time if I don’t know a word I just guess its meaning, but I’m good at reading. Part of the reason I enjoy reading is because I know what books I like or will enjoy and therefore I’m good. I mean, there are books which I never finished simply because I didn’t understand them. So yeah, I’m good at reading most of the time!🙂

Why do you read?

Related Link

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. museditions
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 16:08:59

    I agree with all your reasons! But, to me, they are all summarized in #4😉

    nylusmilk: yeah, that’s my main reason too! i mean, how can anybody read as a hobby without enjoying it, right?

    Reply

  2. Josette
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 21:39:42

    To me, reading is all those except to escape and to de-stress. If I need to escape from the real and depressing world, I watch movies or listen to some of my favourite songs. 🙂 Then, I’ll be in the mood to read.

    sulz: hmm, interesting! i use reading as a means to get away or clear my mind, but you need a clear mind first before you enjoy the reading.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

