The Chocolate Run – Dorothy Koomson

dk

Dorothy Koomson is likely to be living somewhere on planet Earth, and is either eating chocolate or thinking of eating chocolate. (She’s probably also wondering why these blurbs often sound like personal ads… Yes, she does have a GSOH.) Dorothy is still a journalist as well as a novelist. Her third novel, My Best Friend’s Girl, was a Richard & Judy Summer Read of 2006 and reached number two on The Times bestseller list.

You can visit Dorothy’s website at http://www.dorothykoomson.co.uk

The book in one sentence: Amber’s life changes when her good friend, Greg, confesses to liking her despite his womanising ways, which is the beginning of her troubles and threatens to break apart her friendship with best friend Jen when a shocking discovery is made.

Who would you recommend it to: Chick lit lovers, I suppose. I wouldn’t exactly recommend per se, but if the book’s on sale then I just might.

OK bits: I like the premise of the plot.

Boring bits: I don’t like the execution of the plot.

Random review quote:

“Chatty and heaving with funny lines” – Closer

Verdict: I’ve read many chick lit, and the best ones at that (Sophie Kinsella, Helen Fielding, Marian Keyes, Jilly Cooper… they’re top-notch chick lit writers, in my opinion). My friend loves Dorothy Koomson’s books… but I don’t see why. I find the protagonist quite affected, and the writing is rambling and long-winded. While long sentences are typical in chick lit, Koomson’s lines don’t sound witty to me. This is another Cecelia Ahern to me.

Leave a Reply

