10 Books I Love That Nobody Reads

Previously I listed 10 books I dislike that people love. Now, this is the opposite list! (Well, it seems like nobody I know reads them.)

1. The Outsiders – S. E. Hinton
Of course one of my most favourite books come first in this list. It’s more of a teenage boy’s read, but despite that I feel I can relate to the protagonist, Ponyboy Curtis. I always cry reading this book!

2. Scarlett: The Sequel to Gone with the Wind – Alexandra Ripley
As the self-explanatory title goes, this book which tells life after Rhett Butler frankly doesn’t give a damn is as vibrant and colourful and exciting as the Margaret Mitchell original. Best of all, it has a happy ending. Scarlett does indeed get together with Rhett in the end! But after going through some really crazy stuff, of course.

3. Score! – Jilly Cooper
This is chick lit at its most exaggerated and hilarious! One book could make a 10-episode or more miniseries on television and it’d be an amazing hit, in my opinion. The characters are larger than life and terribly witty. It’s a bit hard starting the book because you’d be so confused with all the characters (it even has a list of characters before the start of the story! Including pets, mind you.) but once you get used to it, you wish the story wouldn’t end.

4. Flowers for Algernon – Daniel Keyes
This is my favourite science fiction story. It’s about this guy who’s slow-witted and was selected to undergo an experiment to make him smarter. The story is written from his point of view, and his slow wit is evident in his writing at the beginning, when he spelled atrociously. Slowly as the scientific experiment worked, he grew smarter, his words were correctly spelled and bigger words were used. The end is terribly sad, though…

5. Messiah – Boris Starling
I don’t read many thrillers, but I really like this author (I’ve read another book by him). This book is about how some guy thinks he’s Jesus Christ, by virtue of having the same initials, and that one Good Friday he was in a hit-and-run accident, went into a coma but became conscious on Easter Sunday. Sounds crazy, the way I put it, but it’s really quite good. I didn’t mention the murders, that’s the interesting part of the story…

6. Danny, Champion of the World – Roald Dahl
Ah, Roald Dahl is famous, but only for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, Matilda and The BFG. This is my favourite Roald Dahl book because it’s so idyllic. I love how father and son bond in this story. Frankly, I love all Dahl’s children’s books, really. I recently read Esio Trot and it’s so crazy!

7. The Music of Dolphins – Karen Hesse
Oh, another beautiful story. It’s about a girl who was brought up by dolphins. Think the marine version of The Jungle Book! The story actually starts when she was discovered and brought back to civilisation.

8. I Am David – Anne Holm
It’s about a boy who escape the concentration camp during war (it was never really said but hinted) and his long journey back to Denmark to find his mother. This book makes the simple things in life so amazing.

9. When Jeff Comes Home – Catherine Atkins
This is quite a heavy, emotional book. Jeff was kidnapped but released a few years after that by his kidnapper. He has to adjust to his old life, but things are not the same. People are questioning his sexuality (as a result of the kidnapping), he feels uncomfortable with his family… I love how the father accepted how he was in the end, whatever his sexuality.

10. Life in the Fat Lane – Cherie Bennett
This story is quite close to my heart because it deals with fat. It’s about this girl who had everything in life – she was a beauty queen, with a fat, loyal best friend, a hot boyfriend and an awesome family. It all started to crumble apart when one day she started to gain weight… and couldn’t stop. She was diagnosed with an illness whereby no matter how much or how little she eats she will continually gain weight! It makes me question my fat after I read this…

What books do you love but nobody else seems to be as crazy about it as you?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Josette
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 22:58:12

    The Outsiders is on my wishlist!

    As for books that I love but nobody else does would be The True Story of Lilli Stubeck by James Aldridge. The writer’s Australian and I guess the book doesn’t get much coverage outside of Australia.

    nylusmilk: oh do read it! it’s quite a boyish book, but i think we have pretty similar reading tastes, seeing as we read a lot of the same books, so i would think you’d enjoy it, even if you might not love it as i do. 😀

    haven’t heard of that book before. now i’ll have to read it if i ever stumble across it. 😉

    Reply

  2. tom L
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 03:19:34

    A very nice and well-rounded list. Especially liked the “Flowers for Algernon” selection. One I love but is largely undiscovered is “108th STreet” by T David Lee. Extremely funny and charming story of growing up in 1950s New York. I am in several book groups who’ve read this and it is universally enjoyed. Keep up your good work.

    nylusmilk: thanks! i like to think my reading repertoire is large, but i’m not sure about that. 😀 i have not heard of this book either, but now i’m definitely keeping an eye out!

    Reply

  3. museditions
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 02:43:19

    I haven’t read any except #4, which I’ve read, like, 12 times. I loved that book, and cry every time. I think I will try “Outsiders” now, as you’ve reminded me it’s there. 🙂

    nylusmilk: i cry every time i read flowers for algernon too! it’s so sad that a good man like charlie had to end up the way he did. 😥 oh do, it’s quite sad too, i always cry reading it. lol, seems like i love books that make me cry. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

