10 Books I Didn’t Finish

1. Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen
I will finish this some day, I promise myself!

2. The Lord of the Rings trilogy – JRR Tolkien
I finished the first two books, I recall… I plan to some day have a LOTR project, where I attempt to read the trilogy in one year’s time!

3. Memento Mori – Muriel Spark
Bought the book for the cover and the synopsis sounded promising. Couldn’t get the book at all. I recently finished a book by Spark called The Finishing School, again conned by the cover and blurb. I may have finished it but I didn’t get the point of the book just as I did with her other book. Oh well.

4. Smoke & Mirrors – Neil Gaiman
A collection of short stories. I love Stardust, but the short stories are bizarre and I don’t get it.

5. American Gods – Neil Gaiman
Ditto.

6. High Fidelity – Nick Hornby
I thought About A Boy was awesome, but A Long Way Down is just that for me – I don’t get it at all. Obviously trying with this book didn’t change that.

7. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell – Susanna Clarke
Too strange and thick for me!

8. A Fête Worse Than Death – Iain Aitch
A pity I couldn’t finish this because it’s about the English lifestyle and all its quirkiness.

9. There’s No Toilet Paper… on the Road Less Traveled
A compilation of true short stories by noted writers and their travels. Some were good, some went over my head.

10. Sophie’s World – Jostein Gaarder
A book about the history of philosophy. I still have the book and hope to read it again some day.

What books didn’t you finish?

Related Post

Related Link

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 00:23:45

    I never liked Sophie’s world much, far too complicated.

    Have you read Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen? I think that’s far, far better than Pride and Prejudice.

    nylusmilk: oh it is, but i feel so intellectual reading it! 😳 i haven’t but if i ever manage to tackle p&p i just might on your recommendation. 🙂

    Reply

  2. praxist
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 01:32:48

    Well, I don’t know about all of them, but I would definitely recommend from your list American Gods because even though the narrative style is very different from that of stardust – it has an intricately crafted plot and awesome amount of mythology. I don’t get some of Gaiman’s short stories myself, but at the end of American Gods, everything just connected in this brilliant way.

    Secondly, Pride & Prejudice frankly because I love it and I can never get tired of recommending it to people 😀 Read it because I think it stays with you – the characters, the dialogues, the situations. Also, if you ever decide to read Bridget Jones, you will laugh your head off, seeing all the wacky connections. 🙂

    nylusmilk: i might try it again if i come across it, though i’m not sure if i would when i do. 😛 as for p&p, definitely! i didn’t finish it only because it was due back at to the library. and i love bridget jones! 😀

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 04:56:48

    Pride and Prejudice is so overdone and annoying to read, Sense and Sensibility is much more beautifully written.

    Plus I never understood the whole ‘Mr Darcy’ obsession..

    nylusmilk: one man’s meat, another man’s you-know-what, i suppose! 🙂 i’ll get through p&p first before trying s&s. 😀

    i feel the same way about the whole ps i love you (popular chick lit book) obsession!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

