10 Books People Love That I Don’t

1. The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger
I just don’t get it! I thought the protagonist was rather unappealing as well.

2. The Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan
I don’t get this either – it was a depressing read in a bad way. (As opposed to Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner, which was another depressing read but I got that and it was good.)

3. PS I Love You – Cecelia Ahern
Oh, I really don’t get this… I found it cliched, and the protagonist was not appealing at all to me.

4. Legally Blonde – Amanda Brown
This is one of those loved-the-movie-hated-the-book sort of book. Maybe it’s because I watched the movie first, and movies are usually more entertaining than the book version.

5. The Nanny Diaries – Nicola Kraus & Emma McLaughlin
I don’t get this book because I never understood people who endure so much shit from a boss and in the end doesn’t do anything about it other than quit. Reading is part fantasy – where’s the boss’s comeuppance? Where’s the humiliation bosses should suffer?? (I think I’m too vengeful by nature.)

6. The Devil Wears Prada – Lauren Weisberger
Ditto reasons for books number 4 and 5.

7. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
This one, really didn’t understand. It made no sense to me at all.

8. Bridge to Terabithia – Katherine Paterson
This one, the movie poster has to be blamed for creating a false hype. It looked all fantasy/sci-fi-like, but after reading this simple story about a friendship between two kids, you feel let down. I didn’t watch the movie, but again, I read this with the impression that Terabithia actually existed…

9. Mary Poppins – P. L. Travers
Mary Poppins the book character is so strict, and yet the kids are fascinated by her. I mean, her little mysteries and quirks aside, I found her kinda scary to be likeable. The Julie Andrews Mary Poppins was much better. She sang infectious songs too. 🙂

10. Prep – Curtis Sittenfeld
This isn’t a particularly popular young adult book, but it received good reviews. I enjoyed the beginning of the book, but hated how it turned out and ended. It was kind of like a more modern, more cynical, more direction-less “Catcher in the Rye” book.

Mind you, these books are compiled in no particular order and I don’t remember much of the books except how I feel about it.

What’s in your list? 🙂 Next week, I’ll do an antonymous list – books I love that nobody is/seems to be reading!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Nov 08, 2008 @ 19:37:13

    I remember reading PS I love you a long time ago, long before it became so famous and well known and whilst it was a nice little book that entertained me for the afternoon, I don’t really see it’s attraction either.

    I do like the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the galaxy though, maybe it’s a geeky thing?

    nylusmilk: me neither – but i suppose if i were the protagonist, i’d have been lucky to have such a loving husband. 🙂 maybe the appeal lies in that thought among people who love the book!

    sounds like a geeky thing to me. 😉

    Reply

  2. Josette
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 23:27:33

    I quite enjoyed reading PS I Love You but I don’t think I’ll like the movie. It was quite boring when it started and I switched to another DVD. Will continue watching it when there’s nothing else to watch!

    I’ve yet to read Catcher in the Rye although it sounds really good. As for Joy Luck Club, I gave up even before I started. The synopsis turned me off.

    And Legally Blonde has a book? Wow, I need to look out for it then. I love the first movie, which was terribly hilarious.

    nylusmilk: i heard the movie tanked, really! but there were a few who actually liked it. hence its failure, i suppose. 😛

    if you’ve read prep, it’s the male version of it. if you haven’t, well, the book is quite negative and filled with profanities.

    yup, by amanda brown. but it’s nothing like the movie, the first one i love too; the second was a bit too illogical.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: 10 Books I Love That Nobody Reads « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

