It’s Been A Long Time Since I’ve Done A Bookish Meme!

Taken from here.

What was the last book you bought?
Damn, quite a few actually, from my last book warehouse sale. The one I can remember is Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine.

Name a book you have read MORE than once.
Oh easy – one of my favourite books, The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton.

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?
I don’t see one particular book as life-changing; books changed and continue to change my life.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews
If I’m buying a book for myself, I mostly buy books I’ve read before. If I’m trying something new, I’d buy according to the price, synopsis and recommendations by book reviews I’ve read.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?
Of course fiction!

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

Plot. Some beautiful writing I’m too unintellectual to appreciate, unfortunately.

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)
The Big Friendly Giant of Roald Dahl’s The BFG.

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?
No nightstand, but currently I’m reading Merde Actually by Stephen Clarke.

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?
A Year in the Merde, again by Stephen Clarke, a few days ago I think.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?
Plenty of times. The last unfinished book I reviewed was Neil Gaiman’s Smoke and Mirrors.

Leave a Reply

