My Not To Be Read List

Inspired by this post, I’m going to post my NTBR list.

1. War & Peace – Leo Tolstoy
This book will probably not give me the peace I usually feel when reading, but instead would probably make me want to wage war with it.

2. Any Shakespeare books
I’ve read 2 for literature classes – Macbeth and Hamlet (of all of Shakespeare’s classics, my class was assigned the two most morbid ones). The plot is interesting, but Shakespearean language does not appeal to me. I wouldn’t mind reading abridged versions or watching movies though.

3. Douglas Adams’s books
I’ve read Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and I’m scarred for life.

I’m sure there are plenty of books I wouldn’t touch with a 10-foot pole, but I won’t say just in case I change my mind in the future. ๐Ÿ˜› Presently, though, I do not read any political or self-help books. Or health books.

What books do you not plan to read and why?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. museditions
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 04:27:48

    I haven’t read War and Peace, either, even though it’s one of those books we’re “supposed” to read. Shakespeare is a bit deep, yeah. I thought MacBeth was a hoot (I know I’m not supposed to think that). Most of the ones about Kings are not fun. to me. I liked A Midsummer’s Night’s Dream, and much of his poetry, and if you haven’t seen the Zeferelli Romeo and Juliet yet, you really must! It’s lush and sensual and made me fall in love with all the lead characters. (Well, maybe not the nurse). http://students.ed.uiuc.edu/bach/rnj24/rj1968.html
    Haha, about Hitchhiker’s ๐Ÿ˜‰ Did you see the movie? It’s pretty good, and partially even understandable. ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for me, I don’t read novels with a lot of gratuitous unpleasantness such as violence, overcoming a difficult childhood (except for Jane Eyre, a classic in that), or plots that are not uplifting. I think novels should enhance my experience. I do read self-help books, but, lately with a more jaded eye. I think that much of the help they offer are things that helped the author, not necessarily translating to a wider audience.
    I generally steer clear of the history section (except for really good historical novels like Johnny Tremain) hard sciences, cooking and crafts. Huh! You’ve turned the usual “favorite book” thing on its head! ๐Ÿ˜€

    nylusmilk: the thing with books we’re ‘supposed’ to read is that they’re not fun, that’s why they’re recommended like medicine. ๐Ÿ˜› i wouldn’t mind trying shakespeare’s more ‘fun’ works, but it’s probably not something i’d do on my own, maybe if it were for a class or something. i would watch the hitchhiker movie if i have the chance. ๐Ÿ™‚ i usually find the movie version more entertaining if i didn’t like the book! (as is the case with the devil wears prada by lauren weisberger – hated the book, adored the movie!)

    jane eyre – not so fun reading for literature class! i might try reading it again just for reading’s sake, i hope i like it. ๐Ÿ™‚ johnny tremain was good! but i read it for fun, i think i would disagree if i had to read it for class.

    strangely, i found it difficult to find not-so-favourite books for this post. i thought i dislike a lot of stuff. ๐Ÿ˜† i guess the feeling is more indifferent than dislike.

    Reply

  2. museditions
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 04:48:00

    You’ve got your flowers here now! Wow, beautiful!

    nylusmilk: thanks! i won’t be using it on the other blog, but i thought i’d give it a last spin before the css upgrade here expires in september. ๐Ÿ™‚ somehow i feel it fits my other blog better than here, but hey, it’s still pretty. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply

  3. lovelyloey
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 09:40:41

    Many books I won’t read, War and Peace being one of them. Though I might read Crime and Punishment though. We’ll see, haha.

    Oh yeah, I won’t read Terry Prachett. And Nora Roberts. And Sidney Sheldon. Or anymore of the VC Andrews series.

    nylusmilk: i would read terry pratchett and nora roberts and sidney sheldon! but only because i haven’t read them, hehe. ๐Ÿ˜€ try lor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

