Bookplates – Not Stuff You Put Food On!

For someone like me who’s one of the biggest bookworm I know (hah!), I’m puzzled by bookplates. What are they? Bookplates sound like some metallic plate you paste on your book, but I don’t think it’s metallic, is it? So a quick search through Wikipedia explained to me that bookplates are just book labels on which you write your name. Oh, why don’t you say so? You see this stuff all the time in books, except they’re pre-printed and not exactly customised as original bookplates are.

Through this post, I found a blog all about bookplates, as well as a site of a bookplate designer. I also found some bookplates created by Quentin Blake (the illustrator who illustrates in Roald Dahl’s children books). Very cute for your children’s books. 🙂

Now, I have no idea what’s a screen print, but this one looks pretty nice all the same. 🙂

z

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 08:18:20

    Screen print is related to printing t-shirts I think. Like the design on paper that will appear on the shirts. Heh.

    nylusmilk: ooh, that’d make a cute shirt print then!

    Reply

  2. museditions
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 08:32:16

    I like the bookplates, particularly the one with all the stars; very cute. I would just be showing off how smart I am to only myself, though, because I don’t like to lend my books. 🙂

    nylusmilk: haha, well, and your house guests too, though on second thought they shouldn’t see it lest they think you lend books! 😛

    Reply

  3. sideways14
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 04:14:31

    Reblogged this on sideways glance and commented:
    Looking for some bookplates for my daughter’s library – I came across this collection on this bookish blog which I will be following from now on! Thank you, Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

