Some Books That Changed My Life… Metaphorically Speaking

Needed an idea for a post, so I decided to take a page off CJWriter‘s book, or rather, blog. 🙂

I don’t see books as life-changing. To me, life-changing is something that has the power to turn my life around through it, like a tragedy in my family or an unexpected turn of events. What I do see books as are things which mould me into being the person I am, the way I see life, think of issues, et cetera. Not entirely, of course, but books taught me lots of things teachers and family didn’t, and I’m definitely smarter, or rather more aware, because of the books I read. So I’m going to list some books which had great impact on me as a reader and a person.

1. The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton
I constantly name this book as one of my favourites. The author is a girl, who wrote a book for boys at only the age of 17. How amazing is that? This book taught me about boys, how the bond of friendship can be greater than family, and about social discrimination. Each time I read this book again, I never fail to cry.

2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
This is the only classic I enjoy and understand very much. I learnt about integrity and racism through the eyes of a child. I just recently watched the movie and it’s excellent.

3. Danny, Champion of the World by Roald Dahl
This is my favourite Dahl children’s books, even more than the popular Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I love to read about the idyllic father-son relationship in this book. They were poor but happy. I love how they get into trouble by poaching, and try to cover it up with the help of friends and neighbours. It’s a very dreamy and wonderful children’s book.

4. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
Oh, this is a really sad science fiction book. It’s about a retarded man, after going through a scientific experiment, becomes a genius. The book is written as the man’s journal – so when you first read it, the spelling and grammar is as atrocious as that of a slow-witted person, and gradually as his intelligence improved, so did his grammar and choice of words. The experiment in time proves to be a failure, and the poor man’s intelligence quickly deteriorated to a bad ending. It brings to me that classic question: would you rather never to have loved at all or to have loved and lost? Though in this case it’s intelligence rather than love.

5. The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse
I love this children’s book about a girl who was raised by dolphins before she was discovered. After she was brought back to civilization, she was placed in a laboratory to be taught, along with another child who was raised by animals in the jungle. Her childlike perspective on life from what the dolphins taught her makes you question a lot of things about life. She ends up going back to live with the dolphins.

(I haven’t read my favourite books in a while, so my description of them probably doesn’t do much justice. I do recommend you read it if you ever stumble across them.)

My list of books do not change my life, so to speak, but they largely feed on my ideals or created my ideals. Most of the books I chosen are not great classics of our time, but in a way, it also reflects me as a person. I’m not a popular girl; I’m quiet and have few friends in my circle. But in in my small circle, I like to believe I had a presence in the lives of the people I know, however small it may be.

Leave a Reply

