Classics Meme

1. My favorite classic is To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Every time I reread it, I just fall in love with it all over again. I mean, there are some books where rereads just doesn’t give you the same feeling as it did your first; with this classic I do feel different things with each reread, but they’re the same in which they are all positve feelings.

2. The classic I had the toughest time finishing is Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. I finished it, but I didn’t get it at all. I’m not much into African literature too.

3. I would recommend Animal Farm by George Orwell to someone who doesn’t read a lot of classics or who doesn’t generally like classics because it’s a fairly easy read on the surface, yet at the same time you get the gist of the author’s message even if you can’t read in between the lines very well.

4. To me, a classic book is a book that is read tens of years after its publication, something that stands the test of time and binds readers of different generations.

5. The type of relationship I have with classics is a difficult one. I do not enjoy many classics, and I find it hard to understand beyond the written word. Sometimes I can’t read the classic writing style, it bores me and makes it a chore to read. But I do make it a point to try a classic I’ve never read before, if I feel up to it, and I also try to read it again if I failed the first time, just in case this time I might enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

