Fictonal Female Characters I’d Like To Be

1. Bridget Jones in Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
Okay, I know she swears a lot, far more than I do, she’s not your typical beauty, even for chick lit, she is horribly unhealthy and embarrassing, but if that’s what it takes for me to get a Mark Darcy, I don’t think it’s such a bad character to be. 😛 Also, people seem to like her for some reason. Well, some people, and some good-looking men (and woman, haha). 😉

2. Anouk Rocher in Chocolat by Joanne Harris
She’s a kid, with an adventurous mother who also opens a chocolate shop. What more can I wish for in a mom??

3. Cassandra Mortmain in I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
She’s such a beautiful soul, and even though she’s written about how awful it is to live an impoverished life in the castle, it does seem rather fun and romantic. It’s sad how her love life ended at the end, though. 😦

4. Andy Sachs in The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger
I’m going to cheat a bit and choose the movie character, instead of the character of the book. I love Anne Hathaway in the movie, and I adore the movie; it was everything the book was not to me. Even though the ending was bittersweet (she broke up with her boyfriend) but the growth her character went through was so clear, and she was a strong character for not being caught up in the backstabbing rat race of the fashion world.

5. Hermione Granger in the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling
I know, I know, cliché! But who doesn’t want to be smart, pretty, magical, feisty, principled, and with two of the most important guys in your world as your best friends??

Which female character would you like to be?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    May 19, 2008 @ 03:51:51

    Hermione Granger for sure! I mean who wouldn’t want to be her?!

    Apart from that I love Kay Scarpetta; Patricia Cornwell is one of my favourite authors. However, I never imagined her to be as old as Patricia Cornwell made her, I always thought she was in her late twenties. But she’s a brilliant cook, has a great niece, always makes the right decisions, is hardworking…

    I never read the ‘Chocolat’ book, but based on the film I love the mother, she can guess anyone’s favourite chocolate!

    nylusmilk: i know! she should be the star of the series. 😛 i have yet to try a patricia cornwell book, nor a p. d. james… which i will, of course, hehe.

    i’d have put the mother, since she makes chocolate, but i figured she had a rough life before this, so maybe it’s better to be her kid. 😀

    Reply

  2. lovelyloey
    May 19, 2008 @ 14:05:47

    Cat – Oooh Kay Scarpetta.I like the series; I thought I might want to be like Temperance Brennan by Kathy Reichs; similarly good series if you like the forensic anthropology sort of crime. I’d cheat and quote the Bones TV series’ Brennan cos she’s younger and unmarried. She’s so smart and clueless at the same time it’s cool.

    nylusmilk: that woman’s face doesn’t move. at all. she doesn’t need botox! or maybe is it because of botox? haha. 😛 (unlikely, of course.)

    Reply

  3. Cat
    May 21, 2008 @ 03:37:01

    Pd James is a very difficult read. Very rewarding as the story unravels, but I’ve found all her books really difficult to get into.

    Elisabeth George is the same.

    I don’t like Kathy Richs near as much as Patricia Cornwell. Perhaps it’s because I had already discovered P. Cornwell for a year and when I finally read a Kathy Reichs one it seemed lika a copycat.

    nylusmilk: haha, i gave up my first pd james after a few pages, but i thought it’s just because i take a long time before getting used to reading a new writing style to me! i’m giving it another try, though. some day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

