Bookish Songs

Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten

So goes the song Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield. Other songs I found with bookish lyrics:

Everyday I Write the Book by Elvis Costello
The Book of Love by Peter Gabriel
Open Book by Cake
Tulsa Telephone Book Lyrics by Calexico
Picture Book by Kinks
Book Song by Fairport Convention
Punk by the Book by Anti-Flag
My Little Brown Book by Duke Ellington
God’s Coloring Book by Dolly Parton
I Could Write A Book by Ella Fitzgerald
Talking Book by Lou Reed

I’ve never heard of all these songs; I merely found them through a Google search of book lyrics. 😀

Do you know of any songs which have bookish details in the lyrics?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris@bookarama
    May 09, 2008 @ 03:06:29

    Ramble On by Led Zeppelin has Lord of the Ring references. That all I got at the moment.

    Twas in the darkest depths of mordor
    I met a girl so fair,
    But gollum, and the evil one crept up
    And slipped away with her.

    nylusmilk: haha, this is funny! thanks for the tip. 🙂

    Reply

  2. museditions
    May 09, 2008 @ 12:57:41

    Here’s a nice list from a children’s books person. And, in a “possibly related post” —hahaha, here are some songs about libraries.

    nylusmilk: great links, thanks! too bad i couldn’t hire you as a permanent fixture on my blog. 😆

    Reply

  3. aloi
    May 09, 2008 @ 19:05:10

    hmmm, nothing comes to mind at the moment. there must be a song with the phrase “by the book” though.

    have a great weekend nylusmilk!

    nylusmilk: i’m sure there would be something if we google that. 😉 you too!

    Reply

  4. aloi
    May 10, 2008 @ 00:32:33

    oosh!

    Sheryl Crow’s “The Book”
    I read your book
    And I find it strange
    That I know that girl and I know her world
    A little too well
    And I didn’t know
    By giving my hand
    That I would be written down, sliced around
    Passed down among strangers’ hands

    .. and i KNEW it:
    By The Book by Michael Peterson (who?)
    and if you want the ringtone:
    http://www.ringtonematcher.com/co/ringtonematcher/02?sid=STCLros
    heehee

    I slowly turned the pages
    and see all these smiling faces
    it’s hard to believe it was today, ten years ago
    here is the invitation, to our wedding celebration
    just look at the promise theses pictures show(now I know)

    If I had loved her by the book
    She would be right here by my side but fool that I am
    I overlooked my promise to love her forever, for worse or for better
    We’d still be together…if I had loved her by the book
    If I’d opened the book more often
    Then I wouldn’t forgotten
    How much she cared, and how much I meant my solemn vow
    To honor, to have and to hold her…but as I read them over
    I know its to late to say I’m sorry now, but some how

    If I had loved her by the book
    She would be right here by my side but fool that I am
    I overlooked my promise to love her forever, for worse or for better
    We’d still be together…if I had loved her by the book
    If I’d opened the book more often
    Then I wouldn’t forgotten
    How much she cared, and how much I meant my solemn vow
    To honor, to have and to hold her…but as I read them over
    I know its to late to say I’m sorry now, but some how

    If I had loved her by the book
    She would be right here by my side but fool that I am
    I overlooked my promise to love her forever, for worse or for better
    We’d still be together…if I had loved her by the book
    If I’d opened the book more often
    Then I wouldn’t forgotten
    How much she cared, and how much I meant my solemn vow
    To honor, to have and to hold her…but as I read them over
    I know its to late to say I’m sorry now, but some how

    If I had loved her by the book

    nylusmilk: haha, you did take my suggestion. 😛 see, i told you something would come up in google!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Interesting bookish stuff « Kimbooktu.com

Leave a Reply

