Movie Adaptations of Books

Mostly, we hate it, don’t we? Books were not written to be turned into movies, so when a movie is made based on the book, plot changes would have to be made most of the time to have a cinematic impact.

Movie adaptations of books are a dime a dozen throughout the history of films. Which did you feel did not do justice at all to the book? Which did you like more than the book? Here are my lists; this is not exhaustive since I’m just putting movie titles that come to mind, which I have seen before, at this moment.

Movies That Did Not Do Justice To The Books They Are Based On

1. Memoirs of a Geisha
2. I Am David

Movies Which I Think Were Better Than The Books!

1. Stardust (I know this is something most wouldn’t agree with me, but hey, it’s my list)
2. The Devil Wears Prada
3. The Lord of the Rings trilogy
4. Bridget Jones’s Diary and the sequel
5. Legally Blonde (yes, it’s based on a book but the book stinks!)
6. The Godfather
7. The Princess Diaries
8. Mary Poppins
9. A Time to Kill

Movies I’m Not Too Sure If They Were Good Or Bad To The Books They Were Based On

1. The Harry Potter movies
2. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe
3. The Da Vinci Code
4. Perfume
5. Charlie & the Chocolate Factory

This post was inspired by this comment!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Apr 09, 2008 @ 08:12:38

    Well, my take is, movie is movie, book is book. Adapted, inspired from books, I generally don’t care. As long as authors don’t churn out books to be turned into movies *cough*Stephen King*cough*.

    nylusmilk: hmm, that’s fair. it’s inevitable though the comparison between the two!

    why not? i mean, if writing books to be turned into movies, those books happen to be good reads too, i don’t mind.

    Reply

  2. karat
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 02:30:04

    hi! came through google. definitely agree about Stardust, but then I don’t like Neil Gaiman’s style of writing much. btw, took the Austen heroine quiz some years back and I can’t remember the result, so I’m taking it again. =)

    nylusmilk: hi there! yeah, i agree, i don’t fancy his style of writing much, but i guess that’s my personal taste. i did enjoy reading stardust better than his other books, though, so it was pretty good (except for the ending, i love happy endings!).

    haha, great. what’s your results? 🙂

    Reply

  3. karat
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 03:55:00

    ‘Stardust’ was the only book by him that I ever finished. I tried reading the others but always left them halfway. I even downloaded ‘Neverwhere’ the TV series but I burned it straight into CDs. and I’ve just read ‘The Devil Wears Prada’ – I like the movie better. I am… or I got, Elizabeth Bennet. =)

    nylusmilk: yeah, i’ve read smoke and mirrors but didn’t like that. oh, same here, i much prefer the movie than the book – anne hathaway is so gorgeous in the clothes and emily blunt is just perfect in her role!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

