One of the More Interesting Book Memes Out There

1. Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews or having trusted friends rave about it?
Any famous romance author. I’m very embarrassed to read them, though I know I’ll probably enjoy them.

2. If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, a book signing), who would they be and what would the event be?

I would like to gather Stephen (the handsome guy who loved Cassandra Mortmain in Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle), Bridget Jones (of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary of course) and David (from Anne Holm’s I Am David) in an online conversation each!

3. (Borrowed from the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde): you are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel ever written. While this immortality is great for a while, eventually you realize that it’s past time to die. Which book would you read to see you to your grave?
Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder. What a book to read to go too, since it’s all about the history of philosophy.

4. Come on, we’ve all be there. Which book have you pretended or hinted at having read, when in all honesty, you’ve never looked beyond the cover if you’ve even seen that much?
I don’t lie about books I haven’t read. If I said I read a book and don’t remember what’s it about, it’s because I read it a long long time ago.

5. As an addition to the last question, has there been a book you’ve really thought you’ve read, only to discover one way or another that you haven’t. Which book?
I have a pretty good memory about what I have or have not read. That memory sadly doesn’t extend to actually remembering what the story was about!

6. You’ve been appointed Grand Book Advisor to a VIP (who’s not a reader). What is the book you’d recommend and why?
Something by Roald Dahl, because I think Roald Dahl has something for everybody.

7. A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have the ability to read in any one language of your choosing. What language do you choose?
French. I’d want to read The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry in its language of origin.

8. A mischievous fairy comes and says that you must choose one book to reread once a year for the rest of your life (and you’ll still be able to read other books). Which book would you pick?
Again, The Little Prince. Philosophical and a quick read at that.

9. The good fairy now pays a final visit and offers to build you your dream library. Describe it. Leatherbound books? Lovely trade paperbacks? Autographed editions?
Floor-to-ceiling bookshelves with a built-in ladder. Carpeted floors, with big cushy bean bags and pillows to lie on and read and a huge couch. A faux fireplace. A balcony with a swing or hammock. But honestly, I’d be very satisfied with just one shelf of books, seeing as I don’t even have a proper bookshelf for my books!

10. What novel would you like to be a character in?
Harry Potter. I want to do some magic!

Leave a Reply

