The Tenth Circle – Jodi Picoult

jp

Jodi Picoult received an A.B. in creative writing from Princeton and a master’s degree in education from Harvard. The recipient of the 2003 New England Book Award for her entire body of work, she is the author of twelve previous novels, including Vanishing Acts, My Sister’s Keeper and Second Glance. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and three children. Visit her website at http://www.jodipicoult.com.

The book in one sentence: Father Daniel Stone has to go through personal hell when his wife cheats on him and his daughter is raped.

Who would you recommend it to: I don’t know… if you’re into drama sort of stuff, I guess.

OK bits: I like the interlude comics. The plot is pretty good too.

Boring bits: Quite long-winded for me. And quite depressing too.

Verdict: I often see her name in many bestsellers list, so I just picked this for curiosity reasons. Not my type of genre, but if the back page synopsis appeals to me, I won’t mind reading her books again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 08:37:21

    I never liked her stuff, so drama mama. Haha.
    Maybe I do like the Murakami sort of understatedness.

    nylusmilk: yeah, very drama! i haven’t tried murakami, but i have a feeling i won’t get it if i do. 😛

    Reply

  2. jordeana
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 14:58:11

    if this one didnt hold your attention, definitly read second glance by her. its got more perspectives, the plot is much more intricate, and altogether a very fast read. plus the story outline is much more interesting. :]

    nylusmilk: i wanted to read her more famous work, nineteen minutes and my sister’s keeper, but i’ll look out for that too since you recommend it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

