Ode to the Book’s Companion

I love bookmarks, so I like this ode.

ODE TO A BOOKMARK

O little bookmark
slim and slight
between the pages
closed up tight.

When at last
I douse my light
you guard my place
all through the night.

No matter where
that place may be
I know you’ll keep it
just for me.

Then in the morn
your squarish head
admist the book
above my bed.

O little bookmark
slim and slight
working, working
through the night.

Duncan Ball

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. museditions
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 03:04:54

    I like this Ode, too. It’s sweet and simple. It reminds me how important bookmarks really are. When falling asleep over a book, I can slip one in, even if my mind is rapidly turning to mush. Love “your squarish head”. Very charming.

    nylusmilk: yes! even though anything can be made a bookmark, i think a nice one made for it make the reading experience much lovelier.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: My Bookmark Collection « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

