I Hope You Like Book Memes

1. Do you remember learning to read? How old were you?
I remember learning how to write my name when I was four. That’s the only related thing I remembered about reading.

2. What do you find most challenging to read?

Academic books, urgh.

3. What are your library habits?
I visit it about once every fortnight because that’s the borrowing period. Sometimes I return the books late because I haven’t finished; sometimes I have a dry spell where I don’t go to the library.

4. Have your library habits changed since you were younger?
Somewhat. Previously I would go to the school library a few times a week, and I used to frequent book rentals stores every week.

5. How has blogging changed your reading life?
A whole freaking lot, I’d say. I’m perpetually reading throughout the day. The moment I wake up, I turn on the computer to check on my blogs and others. I read in the toilet. I read before class starts and when I finish my class work. Just reading the whole day long!

6. What percentage of your books do you get from: New book stores, second hand book stores, the library, online exchange sites, online retailers, other?
Almost all the new books I read are from libraries; I have bought books I haven’t read before from book warehouse sales if they’re cheap enough, but I mostly buy only books I’ve read and am sure I had liked it.

7. How often do you read a book and NOT review it in your blog?
For every 10 books I read, probably about half?

8. What are your pet peeves about ways people abuse books? Dogearing pages? Reading in the bath?
Opening the books wide when it’s clearly still new and pristine. Hello, even (good) guys know how to treat virgins carefully when they deflower them; new books should be treated as such too!

9. Do you ever read for pleasure at work?
Of freaking course!

10. When you give people books as gifts, how do you decide what to give them?
Their personality, their sense of humour, their reading habits. Usually Roald Dahl’s books work well with almost anyone!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aloi
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 15:47:37

    you are so funny! 🙂 —-> “Opening the books wide when it’s clearly still new and pristine. Hello, even (good) guys know how to treat virgins carefully when they deflower them; new books should be treated as such too!

    nylusmilk: 😛 i have interesting analogies sometimes!

    Reply

  2. moonbeammcqueen
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 09:17:48

    I love this meme!

    nylusmilk: steal it then! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

