My Humble Bookshelf

As per a reader’s request, here’s my very small collection of books.

img_1523.jpg
What books hide behind this door? Let’s take a look…

img_1524.jpg
Et voila! All 120 books as catalogued in my LibraryThing and a few more.

img_1525.jpg
This is my Roald Dahl collection and the two Bridget Jones books which I adore.

img_1528.jpg
This is part of my Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic collection, next to part of my Harry Potter collection.

img_1526.jpg
This is my to-be-read pile. I know, that’s a whole lot. My problem is that I cannot resist borrowing from the library. 😐

img_1527.jpg
This pile is books I want to donate. I know, I clearly have lousy taste in books when I want to give away Stephen King, Neil Gaiman and Nick Hornby.

Some random stuff in my room:

img_1536.jpg
This is a drawing by a pretty special boy. He drew it when he was 4 or 5 years old; his birthday is just one day before mine!

img_1529.jpg
This is a cloth painting my language teacher gave me; I call it a Mozambique batik.

img_1537.jpg
And this is me when I was about 6 months old. Was I not just the cutest little thing? πŸ˜€

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris@bookarama
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 01:35:56

    Whoa, that’s a saggy shelf! And yes, you are the cutest little thing πŸ™‚

    nylusmilk: haha, that was before i made that cabinet my bookshelf. it’s not because of my books! πŸ˜›

    hehe, thanks. 😳

    Reply

  2. raincoaster
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 13:51:24

    Woohoo! Hawtness!

    nylusmilk: thanks! coming from someone as cute as you, such an honour! :mrgreen:

    Reply

  3. museditions
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 16:54:38

    Hmmm, pictures of your room! We’re getting quite intimate, here. I started a Library Thing, too. I have so many books, though, it will take a while to put them all in.
    You look so happy in the picture, and yes, very very cute. I have a feeling you still are…

    nylusmilk: i don’t know how intimate that is – we still haven’t seen pictures of each other! πŸ˜‰ well, not the present ones at least!

    Reply

  4. aloi
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 19:32:34

    wowsa! what a pile! we have a lot of the same books … and roald dahl (yes i swoon). and ok, you are really cute πŸ™‚

    ps. i tagged you:
    http://aloireads.wordpress.com/2008/01/21/8-random-things-about-moi/

    nylusmilk: haha, i’m obviously not bothered by the size of it since i’m taking my own sweet time to go through it. πŸ˜‰ course i’m cute! πŸ˜›

    Reply

  5. lovelyloey
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 19:37:23

    Your hair! Looks like a baby boy! πŸ˜›
    But still cute nonetheless.

    nylusmilk: i know, haha. my mother has a theory that if you’re a girl but look like a boy, the next kid your mom has will be a boy. if you’re a girl and look like a girl, you’ll have a sister next. haha…

    Reply

  6. cjwriter
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 04:37:26

    Wow, that’s quite a collection! I think you’ve got most of my favourite Roald Dahl books except for The Vicar of Nibbleswicke and The Twits! πŸ˜‰

    You’re in for a treat with Call of the Wild; that’s one of my all-time favourites. I think your books say a lot about you; you’ve got a wide-ranging taste and they’re all very neat in your cupboard… like your own little sanctuary.

    Do you have a favourite out of all of those, btw? Or one that you’d reread more than the rest? Just wondering because you can usually tell favourites by how well read the spines are but yours all look pretty good. Cute photo, too. πŸ™‚

    nylusmilk: i do have the twits! it’s a very thin book so maybe it’s not very clear in the picture. i’m looking out for the vicar of nibbleswicke; my lecturer once lent it to me and i thought it was hilarious!

    i read white fang and really liked it, which was why i bought that 2-in-1 book of jack london’s most famous works.

    well, i make a point to reread all the books in my shelf, for what’s the point of owning them, then? πŸ˜‰ oh, it’s my mission in life to keep my books in perfect condition as possible. the old, worn books usually came that way when i bought them, that’s why.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: One of the More Interesting Book Memes Out There « The Literary Pursuit
  8. heather
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 22:07:47

    Love the Roald Dahl and the John Grisham! Try Shel Silverstein for some great poetry / writing for kids (that is fun for adults too!) πŸ™‚

    nylusmilk: i know, they make such entertaining reads and at the same time not to lowbrow, if you get what i mean. πŸ™‚ okay, i will look out for silverstein’s books, thanks for the tip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

