Stop Pretending – Sonya Sones

ss

As a teenager Sonya Sones spent hours pouring her private thoughts and feelings into journals. Her passion for writing, drawing and photography led her to begin making animated films when she was seventeen. She studied filmmaking in college, and went on to teach animation, make films for public television, and edit movies in Hollywood. She lives with her husband and two children in California. Stop Pretending is her first book.

The book in one sentence: Diary of a girl whose sister suffered from a nervous breakdown.

Who would you recommend it to: Umm, relatives of people who had nervous breakdowns? (I’m not trying to be funny, honest.) But also people who enjoy reading free verse.

OK bits: Generally everything.

Boring bits: Well, maybe some things.

Random review quote:

“This is a truthful and moving book. It will gain a devoted readership.” — David Almond

Verdict: Initially, I scorned at the review quote above. I didn’t think it was that great as to garner a ‘devoted readership.’ But when I was done with it, I really liked it. Oh well, it might have to do with the fact that I actually enjoy reading free verse books (I’ve even written one myself for a class project, heh). I’ve read three so far including this; the other two being Karen Hesse’s Out of the Dust and Robert Cormier’s Frenchtown Summer. If you enjoy free verse I’d also recommend those.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 05:28:12

    This the second book I’ve read from Sonya Sones , and I am absalutely inlove with it. The way she writes the books in general are just so unique . Her stories are just down right amazing.

    nylusmilk: i’ve only read this one, but i’m leaning towards what you’ve said too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Eunice
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 05:29:19

    what reading level would this book be??(6th 7th 8th?????)

    Reply

  3. Haleigh.loves.Tyler
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 08:21:29

    i loooooooove this book!!!!!!!! one of my favoritess!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

