Yet Another Book Meme

What are you reading right now?
Smoke & Mirrors by Neil Gaiman.

Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that?
I’d probably read Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman.

What magazines do you have in your bathroom right now?
I don’t have books in my bathroom; maybe when I get my own home. Until then, you’ll have to make do with labels on shampoo and shower cream bottles. 😉

What’s the worst thing you were ever forced to read?
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. Depressing and not romantic to me at all, especially after reading Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea (in which Rochester is portrayed as quite the louse). I mean, I think I might have liked it if I read it voluntarily than for literature class.

What’s the one book you always recommend to just about everyone?
Charlie & the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. How can anyone not like Roald Dahl?!

Admit it, the librarians at your library know you on a first name basis, don’t they?
Nope. They aren’t exactly a friendly bunch, and neither am I generally. 🙂

Is there a book you absolutely love, but for some reason, people never think it sounds interesting, or maybe they read it and don’t like it at all?
The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton.

Do you read books while you do other things?
Of course. I read when commercials are on between my tv shows, I used to read while walking home from school, I read in class when I’m done with my work.

When you were little, did other children tease you about your reading habits?
Nobody cares if I read, it’s nothing that interesting to tease about, is it? They probably thought I was a big nerd, that’s all.

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was so good you couldn’t put it down?
John Boyne’s The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. I recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

