Who Reads What

I thought this was an interesting site since it lists which celebrities are reading (or rather recommending) what books compiled by Gardiner Public Library. Man, most of the celebrities are so obscure. Either that or my knowledge of celebrities is too pop-cultured.

I can’t help but highlight George W. Bush’s recommendations because I love people who recommend books that aren’t the common choices, and children books at that! I’m surprised that he has read one of my all-time favourite young adult books My Side of the Mountain by Jean George. He also recommends James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl and Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt, which I have also read but did not enjoy as much.

Some common titles mentioned frequently are The Lord of the Rings trilogy (J. R. R. Tolkien), Call of the Wild (Jack London), To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee) etc.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverneurotic
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 06:12:30

    No offense, but Bush recommends kids books because that’s all he can read. *rolls eyes*

    nylusmilk: that could be very possible. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 06:23:49

    Ohh, I love James and the Giant Peach. Thanks for entering my blog contest! Good luck!

    nylusmilk: i like james and the giant peach too, but my favourite is danny, champion of the world. no problem, and thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  3. tylwyth teg
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 10:30:10

    Of course, what would a bookstore be without hot chocolate and chocolate chip cookies? 🙂

    [referring to comment left in his/her blog]

    nylusmilk: hi, thanks for replying and visiting! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Neda
    Sep 24, 2007 @ 18:15:52

    Well just a week ago i finished reading
    Matilda & i dare say it was wonderful.
    I ‘m going 2 work o it 4 my MA thesis!

    Isn’t that great?!
    u have a nice site.
    Cheers.

    nylusmilk: wow, what’s your paper going to be about? thanks for the compliment. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Bush the Bookworm « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

