Me, Me, Me, Me, Meme!

I’ll try not to repeat the same books I’ve mentioned in previous memes!

A book you’ve read more than once: Hi There, Supermouse! by Jean Ure. It’s not the best book I’ve read but I just love it for some reason.

A book you would take on a desert island: I’ve answered a similar question before and my answer stays the same – My Side of the Mountain by Jean George.

A book that made you cry: I Am David by Anne Holm. Never fails to make me cry and truly appreciate what I have in this world.

A book that scared you: I was disturbed by The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne. Not a book you want to finish before you go to bed!

A book that made you laugh out loud: Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume. I love it so much I bought Superfudge and Fudge-A-Mania.

A book that disgusted you: Disgusted is a strong word, but I was near feeling that when I read Cecelia Ahern’s PS I Love You. I just don’t get why people think it’s good. It’s just me, I guess.

A book you loved in preschool: How can I remember that?!

A book you loved in elementary school: The Three Brownies by Enid Blyton. I’m looking for it but I can’t seem to find it, not even online! Anyone knows if the title has been changed or something?

A book you loved in middle school: The Sweet Valley Twins & Friends series. I made my father buy over 100 books! My mother got so mad at this utterly frivolous and wasteful spending of money she blew her top one day and spanked me with the vacuum cleaner hose.

A book you loved in high school: My Uncle Oswald by Roald Dahl. This was a different side to Dahl that I had never known until then. And I loved it, of course.

A book you hated in high school: The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger. I didn’t, and still don’t, understand it, so maybe that’s why I can’t appreciate the craft.

A book you loved in college: The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse. It’s a simple children’s story, but I never fail to be moved by it.

A book that challenged your identity: Maybe Life in the Fat Lane by Cherie Bennett. Makes me question about my relationship with fat.

A series that you love: Easy – the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

Your favorite horror book: Not so much horror as thriller, but pretty gross all the same – Messiah by Boris Starling.

Your favorite science fiction book: The only thing I read that’s remotely related to science fiction, and I love it, is Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes.

Your favorite fantasy book: I don’t read much fantasy, so I can’t really name one. I did enjoy Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer, though.

Your favorite mystery: Agatha Christie’s! All the ones with Hercule Poirot in them. But the best is And Then There Were None.

Your favorite biography: J. R. R. Tolkien: The Man who Created The Lord of the Rings by Michael Coren. Not too longwinded, and not too short either.

Your favorite classic: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. That’s about as classic as I can read!

Your favorite romance book: Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley, which is the sequel to Gone with the Wind.

Your favorite book not on this list: The Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella.

What book are you currently reading:

What book have you been meaning to read: Still looking for The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverneurotic
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 08:37:20

    What don’t you get about “Catcher in the Rye”? I always found it straight forward, I love Salinger’s writing style cuz it’s simple, yet you FEEL like you are that character.

    nylusmilk: honestly, everything. i think it’s just me. 😐

    Reply

  2. tbrtales
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 10:14:13

    “A book you loved in college: The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse. It’s a simple children’s story, but I never fail to be moved by it.”

    I loved that book so much, and I’ve never heard anyone else mention it! I read it when I was younger and just found it profound for some reason. I love it. I’m glad to see at least one another person appreciates it!

    nylusmilk: wow, i’m glad to hear from you too! it’s just an amazing story to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

