Of Reading Habits & Writing Ambitions

In the US:

In the UK:

More Britons dream about becoming an author than any other job, according to a new survey.

I don’t know about you, but I thought those news were kind of depressing. As an English major, I’m one of the few people who can be seen bringing a book to class regularly. Most of my classmates seldom read for leisure, if at all.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverneurotic
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 05:47:32

    That would explain why most books I find are either geared towards women, are southern based or a tad on the liberal side.

    But gee, they are some of my favorite books so I can’t complain too much!

    nylusmilk: despite the rather depressing discovery, it’s much better than the statistics in malaysia – the average malaysian reads about 2 books a year. ­čś»

    Reply

  2. intlxpatr
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 12:26:15

    I heard those stats on BBC, and was horrified. But I think of all the younger members of the family – 20’s and 30’s – and I think they are actually reading newspapers, shorter articles, etc online, so it isn’t as if they are not reading at all.

    Also, with e-mail, blogs, and IM’s, more people are WRITING, I believe, than before. It may not be gramatical, spelling may be changing, but what else is new?

    nylusmilk: indeed, to say we’re reading less is not exactly true, but i think reading books offer a different benefit than what we read on a daily basis, whether it’s the newspaper or a blog. to dismiss the reading of books on the fact that we technically read a lot every day already, well, i think we’d miss out on a lot then.

    Reply

  3. intlxpatr
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 20:23:19

    I agree – we are exposed to a lot of things we don’t know in books, and life would be far less colorful without them. And I prefer to have a BOOK in my hands, not read on the computer. The number of books READ may not be the whole picture, however.

    My son downloads books, puts them on disk and listens to them as he drives. My husband checks them out of the library, and listens to and from work. Neither would call that reading, and at the same time, they ARE being exposed to all the same ideas as a reader.

    nylusmilk: ah, didn’t think of audio books. hmm, that brings about an interesting question: a person could listen to an audio book or read a book of the same title, but what are the differences in the experience? would the different mediums bring different benefits? but yes, they’re exposed to the same ideas of the author.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

