Online Book Rental Store

My reading passion has been largely due to the book rental stores I had visited in my childhood. I would go every weekend and borrow over half a dozen books. It really pinched my father’s pocket because the rental fees were between RM20 and RM30 a week, but my father is nothing if not generous. He’s the one that fed my reading passion basically.

Anyway, now the book rental business has gone online! At this site, not only can you rent books, but also audio books and CDs. You might think what’s the point of spending money on things I don’t even own, but believe me, it’s better to pay for reading it once than to pay more for owning it. You actually save more doing so because you get to avoid paying more for the lousy books. If you really like a book you rented so much, it’s possible to not return it because the system works by paying a full deposit and rental when you borrow it, then they return the deposit to you once you return the books. The site has improved on the system by offering unlimited rental plans!

Malaysian bookworms could try Reader’s Shack, a local online book rental site.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverneurotic
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 08:22:59

    I can’t justify doing that when I live less than a mile from a free public library that has more than enough books to keep me satisfied.

    nylusmilk: well, surely not everybody is as lucky as you. 😉

    Reply

  2. P
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 19:32:35

    Hi nys..
    You had to RENT books when you were growing up?
    Really?
    There is no free library where you live?

    phil

    nylusmilk: who’s nys? 🙂

    libraries in malaysia are notorious for their terrible book selection. the only way one can get a decent book to read is to borrow from book rental stores or buy a book from a bookshop. obviously the former is a cheaper alternative…

    Reply

  3. P
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 03:12:57

    heh hee, hi nylusmilk (sorry, i get lazy with the names 🙂 )

    Well, I guess I never thought of it before, I just assummed that most countries had free libraries.

    I find it very interesting and a little disappointed. Makes me appreciate my public library much more.

    peace,
    p

    nylusmilk: just teasing you there anyway, p. 😉 yea, think of us here when you visit your local library next time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

