Three Books Meme

1. Three books that changed your life?
I don’t believe books change your life, but they do change your perspective and at the very least a small part of your life in terms of book sentimentality. In this case:
The Outsiders – S. E. Hinton
To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
The Three Brownies – Enid Blyton
(The only book I can remember among the many I’ve read by Ms Blyton as a child)

2. Three books you have read more than once?
The usual books I name in memes are definitely read more than once, but I’ll introduce some random books I haven’t mentioned before:
Messiah – Boris Starling
Life in the Fat Lane – Cherie Bennett
My Uncle Oswald – Roald Dahl

3. Three books you would want on a desert island?
I’ve answered a similar question to this, so I’m going to give you the same answer along with the other two titles. They are island- or nature-themed, so that would be good guides to living on a desert island and entertaining at the same time.
My Side of the Mountain – Jean George
Island of the Blue Dolphins – Scott O’Dell
The Cay – Theodore Taylor

4. Three books that made you laugh?
Nothing is funnier than good chick lit!
Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
Score! – Jilly Cooper
Any of the Shopaholic series books – Sophie Kinsella

5. Three books that made you cry?
The Outsiders – S. E. Hinton
When Jeff Comes Home – Catherine Atkins
I am David – Anne Holm

6. Three books you stayed up all night to finish?
I do that for way too many books, I don’t remember any particular one.

7. Three books that took you too long to read?
Wicked! – Jilly Cooper (it’s 800+ pages long, that’s more than I can usually digest even for chick lit)
Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell (too long and too tortuous, but I don’t regret the pain)

8. Three books you are currently reading?
Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire – J. K. Rowling (yea lah, I’m so outdated, rereading the old books instead of reading the final book now)
Sabriel – Garth Nix (sure can’t finish by the library deadline, oh well)
Doing It – Melvin Burgess (I’m due to borrow this book from a friend)

9. Three books you have been meaning to read?
Angels and Demons – Dan Brown
The Historian – Elizabeth Kostova
Books, Baguettes & Bedbugs – Jeremy Mercer

10. Now tag five people.
lovelyloey, rhigirl, silverneurotic, coversgirl, sassywho (I finally have enough people in my blogroll to tag!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Three Books Meme « Ink Inc.
  2. Alyson
    Jul 24, 2007 @ 01:41:40

    You should definitely read The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. It’s one of the books I’ve enjoyed most this year.

    nylusmilk: heh, i don’t need anymore convincing. i’m grabbing it the moment i see it on the library’s bookshelf!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Post Number 232 « The Post College Years-Part Two
  4. sassywho
    Aug 28, 2007 @ 09:44:04

    hey, sorry i punted on this, i’ve not been myself.

    nylusmilk: hey, no worries, it’s okay if you don’t want to do it. 🙂 thanks for leaving a comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

