Meme Deluxe

Now, it’s a quick meme time.

1. Total Number of Books I Own: So simple, I made an inventory of them in one of my LibraryThing account. 100+ and counting.

2. Last Book I Bought: Secondhand copies of Superfudge and Fudge-A-Mania by Judy Blume.

3. Last Book I Read: The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne. I recommend this book to everybody.

4. Five Books that Mean a Lot to Me: The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Scarlett: The Sequel to Gone with the Wind by Alexandra Ripley, Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes and It’s Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life by lance Armstrong.

5. Tag five people: coversgirl, rhigirl, sassywho, silverneurotic, and you.

Edit: Got tagged the very same day by sassywho, so it’s meme time deluxe edition! 😛

Related meme

8 random (but bookish) things

1. I like to read the book before watching the movie, even though I know I’ll hate the movie that way.

2. I love happy endings over sad endings. But that doesn’t mean I’ll take any old cheesy happy ending. It has to be happy and believable.

3. Sometimes I can’t resist. I sneak a peek at the last page. Sometimes I’m too nosy for my own good and spoil the fun in reading the book. Sometimes fortunately the last page doesn’t reveal much. The author is probably writing with readers like me in mind. 😛

4. I’m a bit ashamed if I were to go out with a chick lit book in my hands. So I always hold the book with the cover facing my body.

5. As a child, I devoured Enid Blytons my parents bought me from garage sales. I particularly recall enjoying The Faraway Tree, The Wishing Chair and the Amelia Jane books with fondness. I also loved this Enid Blyton book called The Three Brownies. I can’t find it anywhere now, not even online shopping!

6. I also enjoyed reading this Singaporean series called The Bookworm Gang. Nope, nothing much to do with bookworms; it’s a group of young schoolchildren with different personalities and the adventures they get up to in Singapore.

7. I’d read any book if it was hyped enough, so I can show off and say I read it. Hah!

8. I’m afraid of losing my sight in the future. Right now my spectacles prescription power is very high. If I go blind one day, how will I read? (Braille books are difficult to come by and quite unaffordable as such in Malaysia.)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sassywho
    Jun 28, 2007 @ 06:46:23

    Yay, good for you Sulz, your blog is easily one of my favorites.

    The Outsiders and TKAM are 2 of my favorite books as well, both were pivotal in my love for reading…. damn I’ll have to come up with others.

    nylusmilk: thank you so much for that wonderful compliment! what a nice way to wake up in the morning. 😀 chop chop on your meme now!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Book Meme « Slipping In The Rain
  3. sassywho
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 07:59:26

    You’ve been tagged

    nylusmilk: i’ve fulfilled my meme duties in this post itself! 😉

    Reply

  4. Sandra
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 20:08:38

    Stole your meme! 😛
    Hope you don’t mind.
    http://dadosrosa.blogspot.com/2007/06/steal-this-meme-8-random-but-bookish.html

    nylusmilk: não é problema! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Another One Of Those Things Called Memes « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

