A Death-Friendly Poem

I think this would be a wonderful poem to be carved on my headstone when I die. Hopefully there’s someone who loves me enough to appreciate it.

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am in a thousand winds that blow,
I am the softly falling snow.
I am the gentle showers of rain,
I am the fields of ripening grain.
I am in the morning hush,
I am in the graceful rush
Of beautiful birds in circling flight,
I am the starshine of the night.
I am in the flowers that bloom,
I am in a quiet room.
I am in the birds that sing,
I am in each lovely thing.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there. I do not die.

It is said to be the work of Mary Elizabeth Frye.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RhiGirl
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 12:29:41

    Lovely stuff: simple, sweet, nature-focused. Like the new banner, too.

    nylusmilk: you want that on your future tombstone? 😛 (if you’re not the morbid kind) thanks! nice to get a comment from you, it’s been a while.

    Reply

  2. Brian
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 01:37:39

    You know, I could swear I’ve read this before somewhere. I’d be cool with on my headstone too, though that’d only work for a conventional death. I still sort of think I’ll go out in a volcanic eruption, which doesn’t lend itself so much to headstones and such.

    This poem immediately reminded me of a kind of morbid book I picked up some years ago called Japanese Death Poems. Basically it’s a collection of haiku and other poetry written by Buddhist monks when they know they’re about to check out permanently. Kind of dark, but also kind of beautiful. You should check it out if you haven’t already.

    nylusmilk: well, lots of things on the net are copied from elsewhere in the net. 😉 even if you were blown to bits you could still be buried… with what bits were salvaged, that is!

    wouldn’t mind reading it if ever come across it, sure.

    Reply

  3. RhiGirl
    Jun 11, 2007 @ 10:02:51

    sulz: you want that on your future tombstone? 😛 (if you’re not the morbid kind) thanks! nice to get a comment from you, it’s been a while.

    Nah, I prefer it to be read at my funeral. 🙂 Might shock some of the more evangelical members of my extended family… “I am…everywhere, folks, remember that!”

    Will try to comment more often…

    nylusmilk: lol. please do!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Death & Love, Bittersweet « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

