Unfinished Books

UNFINISHED FICTION
1 Vernon God Little, DBC Pierre
2 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, JK Rowling
3 Ulysses, James Joyce
4 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, Louis De Bernieres
5 Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell
6 The Satanic Verses, Salman Rushdie
7 The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
8 War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy
9 The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy
10 Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoevsky

These are apparently the books most unfinished by people, according to a Teletext survey conducted in the UK on 4000 people. Harry Potter? One of the easiest books to devour! The Alchemist? It’s so thin, the language is so simple! God of Small Things?

Ah, that I can understand. I forced myself to, and I absolutely regretted it.

Moral of the story: read only if it pleases you, because leisure reading is supposed to be fun. You can read for knowledge enrichment, but only if it pleases you or if you’re willing to suffer for knowledge!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverneurotic
    May 27, 2007 @ 07:48:26

    I can’t believe anyone couldn’t finish Captain Correlli’s Mandolin. It’s such a great book.

    nylusmilk: maybe they’re the same people who couldn’t finish harry potter! but sometimes what one likes may not be what others like. i’ve heard captain corelli’s mandolin is pretty hard to digest for some.

    Reply

  2. Cathie
    May 27, 2007 @ 09:07:30

    I try and make it 100 pages and then if I’m still not into it I give up. One book I’m really glad I stuck with was “The Poisonwood Bible” by Barbara Kingsolver. I hated the first part, but ended up loving the whole book.

    I couldn’t get through “The God of Small Things” either.

    nylusmilk: i pretty much do the same thing. i do remember forcing through books i wanted to stop and didn’t regret it, but there were definitely more book i wished i didn’t force myself to read. i’ve just given up on jonathan strange and mr norrell.

    good on you, you saved yourself much torture from that book!

    Reply

  3. monopod
    May 29, 2007 @ 06:03:22

    I think the thing with Captain Corelli’s Mandolin is the first ten pages or so (or so I’m told – no such problem on my part!). Told one person to persevere and she ended up completely riveted…

    nylusmilk: there are the exceptions, of course. i might try it if i come across this book.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: 10 Books I Didn’t Finish « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

