Bergdorf Blondes – Plum Sykes

bb

The book in one sentence: What Paris Hilton’s life might be like.

Who would you recommend it to: Paris Hilton wannabes and people curious about the lifestyles of the rich and the famous.

Best bits: Learning about haute couture.

Boring bits: Not as boring as it is bad – the parody of those self-absorbed superficial bimbotic bitches. It was so bad it’s virtually real.

Random review quote:

“Perfectly pitched – playful, funny, satirical, and sweet. I laughed out loud many times.” – Anna Wintour, editor-in-chief, Vogue

Verdict: I’m sure it’s meant as a satire, but I have a hard time not believing that is how these people behave, and it just turns me right off the characters. The characters did not in any way redeem themselves for their flaws at the ending. The nicest guys fall for them for inexplicable rationales. One of the lousier chick lit books I’ve personally read, but I’ll give it credit for being something different and creative than the run-of-the-mill chick lit.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. silverneurotic
    May 24, 2007 @ 09:02:50

    Sounds like a book my sister might like. I think I’d pass though.

    nylusmilk: you no like chick lit? a good one is fun to read, really. get it for her only if it’s second-hand or discounted.

    by the way, i read your post about the gilmore girls and i’m quite sad about it ending too; it’s my all-time favourite tv series.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

