Eight Bookish Things About Me

Got tagged by coversgirl.

Here are the rules:

1: Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
2: People who are tagged, write a blog post about their own 8 random things, and post these rules.
3: At the end of your post you need to tag 8 people and include their names.
4: Don’t forget to leave them a comment and tell them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

I’m doing it a little differently. Since it’s in my book blog, I thought it’s only fitting if I write 8 random bookish facts – you wouldn’t be interested in the other stuff I do if you read this blog.

1. I read the newspapers back to front. I’ll look at the front page, proceed to the back page and start from the sports section.

2. If my books are brand-new, I try to keep it as pristine in condition as possible. I wrap them and I carefully open it so it wouldn’t create creases at the spine. If it’s a secondhand book in a not-so-good condition, I don’t care as much.

3. I get really worried when I lend my books out to friends. I hate it if they take too long to return it because I’m afraid it may come back abused.

4. To clear space on my small bookshelf, I have started giving books out to friends. I don’t know if I’ll continue the practice though, because I don’t feel like they appreciate getting the books. I mean, they have yet to tell me what they thought of the book – they probably haven’t even read it! I wouldn’t mind giving out to readers of Bloggerdybooks!, but the postage will kill me! 😉

5. I can’t not read in the toilet. (I’m fully aware of the risk of getting piles by doing so.) If, erm, there wasn’t enough time to grab a book, I’ll read the labels on the toiletries reachable from the throne.

6. I can’t go out without bringing a book with me. And when I think I don’t need a book for such a short trip out of the house, that’s when I find myself waiting with nothing to read. So I never leave home without a book.

7. I’m pretty stingy when it comes to buying books. My policy is to buy only books I’ve read and want to own a copy of. That way, I maximise my satisfaction out of purchasing a book. I do break the rule sometimes and buy a book based on the synopsis, but only if it’s cheap.

8. I laugh out loud and cry when reading books much more than watching tv or movies.

There you go!

I tag lovelyloey, silverneurotic, sassywho, drmike. The 4 places left, anyone feel free to take up my invitation.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverneurotic
    May 22, 2007 @ 07:56:34

    I always have a book in my purse, and I almost always have my purse with me…so I never worry about being stuck somewhere with no book.

    And you can tell the books that I love, because they are in the worst condition from being read and carried around so much.

    Either that, or it’s had a run in with my dog.

    nylusmilk: you should be telling me this in your post since you got tagged! don’t forget to send a trackback. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Bloggerdybooks! Got BlogInterviewed! « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

