Goddamn Winter

If you’re one of those who absolutely rejoiced at the end of winter and the arrival of spring, you must echo the sentiments of this poem:

Winter is icummen in,
Lhude sing Goddamm.
Raineth drop and staineth slop,
And how the wind doth ramm!
Sing: Goddamm.

Skiddeth bus and sloppeth us,
An ague hath my ham.
Freezeth river, turneth liver,
Damn you, sing: Goddamm.

Goddamm, Goddamm, ’tis why I am, Goddamm,
So ‘gainst the winter’s balm.

Sing goddamm, damm, sing Goddamm.
Sing goddamm, sing goddamm, DAMM

Ezra Pound

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sassywho
    May 19, 2007 @ 01:11:48

    i love this! i’m one of those people, when winter comes it’s like a black cloud over me for months

    nylusmilk: not me i would like to think! living in a tropical country with humid heat all year round is not fun at all. i’d love to experience the good and bad of winter – i’m sure i’ll like making snow angels and tucking in front of the fireplace with hot cocoa in my hands. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Brian
    May 19, 2007 @ 01:15:39

    I need to read more Ezra Pound… this is great!

    nylusmilk: i love the personality of the persona here, such a winter scrooge! though i like the sound of winter myself, having lived in a tropical country my whole life.

    Reply

  3. silverneurotic
    May 19, 2007 @ 09:29:55

    All I can say to this is…Goddamn!

    nylusmilk: so did you like it or hate it?

    Reply

  4. CoversGirl
    May 19, 2007 @ 22:59:14

    You’re right; year-round warmth does get tiring. It’s only the subropics here, but we’re having a hot year; two weeks to winter and still 28C. I miss winter!

    I’ve tagged you, too, for the Eight Things About Me meme.

    nylusmilk: exactly. not to mention with the four seasons you have a real excuse to buy more clothes! 😉 so i saw from my incoming links. on my to-do list for today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

