PS, I Love You – Cecelia Ahern

ca

Before embarking on her writing career, Cecelia Ahern completed a degree in journalism and media studies. PS, I Love You is her first novel. A film adaptation is currently in development with Warner Brothers.

Cecelia lives in County Dublin.

The book in one sentence: Recently widowed Holly Kennedy tries to move on with her life after losing the love of her life, with the help of letters he left behind for her, and the help of her friends and family.

Who would you recommend it to: Cheesy, hopeless, bimbotic romantics. As opposed to chick lit lovers who enjoy a fresh, realistic, believable love plot.

Best bits: None. I dislike it that much.

Boring bits: Almost the whole book.

Random review quote:

“Like an Irish Sleepless in Seattle and almost certainly the chick-lit bestseller of the year.” — In Style

Verdict: Personally, one of the worst chick lit books I have ever read. The book reads like a teenage story book with a few expletives thrown in. The dialogue is cheesy, the characters one-dimensional, the vocabulary and plot repetitive (despite being somewhat original). Holly Kennedy is a protagonist that is bland, whiny and unloveable. I’m baffled with the rave reviews this book has received. I’m baffled because I like the other book I’ve read by Cecelia Ahern, cheesiness notwithstanding.

Other Cecelia Ahern’s book I’ve read: Where Rainbows End (Also known as Rosie Dunne)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern | Books Love Me - Reviews
  2. Trackback: The Chocolate Run - Dorothy Koomson « The Literary Pursuit
  3. Trackback: P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

