Pay Less Books Stock Clearance Sale

Warning: A freaking long bookgasm post ahead

Bookgasms never felt so great as this one!!!

I bought 17, SEVENTEEN books, in the space of half an hour, for only RM50!!!

(USD$1 = RM3.50)

Granted, it’s so cheap because they’re second-hand, but who bloody cares?

I bought

Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume
The Pigman’s Legacy by Paul Zindel (I have the first book, The Pigman)
Julie of the Wolves by Jean George
On the Far Side of the Mountain by Jean George (I have the first book, My Side of the Mountain)
Islands of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
Zia by Scott O’Dell (sequel to book above)
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry
White Fang by Jack London
The Call of the Wild by Jack London
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
The Very Bloody History of Britain (Without the Boring Bits!) by John Farman
An Unsuitable Job for a Woman by P. D. James (though I’d give him a try since I do enjoy a good mystery, especially Agatha Christie‘s)

*

Besides buying a mountain of books, I borrowed these at a private library a fortnight ago:

My Little Blue Dress by Bruno Maddox.
Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild.
White Boots by Noel Streatfeild.

And bought these at the junk pile (they sell books if there are multiple copies of the same title at only RM1!):

PS I Love You by Cecelia Ahern (I hate this book but I’m sure I can give it to someone who will love it)
The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown (I have a copy already, but for RM1, I can make someone happy with it)
The History of Mr Polly by H. G. Wells (This is for me, I’ve been meaning to widen my classics repertoire)
Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes
The Last Juror by John Grisham

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 07:21:40

    Holy crap! The Little Prince! (Ha, I have that in French.) The Picture of Dorian Gray! (Read that after watching The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, didn’t quite like it). Oooh, the Judy Blume books. Those were the sort of things I grew up with. Have you read Paula Danziger? She rocks. Stuff like “The Cat Ate My Gymsuit”.

    ARGH. Sho many booksh. Haha.

    sulz: it feels very much like the alchemist for some reason. the setting perhaps. i have not read judy blume’s book before; i’m trying now because i keep seeing these books in young adult book lists. i grew up on enid blyton, bookworm gang (surely you too? 😉 ) and sweet valley.

    muahaha, jealoush ah?

    Reply

  2. Kaine
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 07:55:06

    Wow. The Da Vinci Code is REALLY good. You should read it ASAP!

    XD

    sulz: i have read it, because i have my own copy already before buying that. i wouldn’t say it’s really good, but it’s very entertaining for sure.

    Reply

  3. silverneurotic
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 08:23:40

    Some great books. The Last Juror is my favorite Grisham book, it’s really good and not just a court drama…and those Judy Blume books are awesome, Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing is hilarious.

    sulz: i’ve read it already; i only bought it to give away to friends. my favourite grisham is the client. i’m sure looking forward to reading judy blume. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Cathie
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 23:20:26

    Paul Zindel!! I forgot all about him until I saw this. I read all his books and remember loving them.

    sulz: i thought the pigman was so sad and so sweet, so i hope the sequel is as good as. and i hope the best friends continue their romance. 😉

    Reply

  5. tina
    Apr 19, 2007 @ 12:18:31

    i envy you!!1 soo many book sales… over there. here not much. *sigh* hayy oh where oh where do i find those book sales here.. hehe

    enjoy your reads!

    nylusmilk: where’s here? 🙂 i find library’s just as satisfying because i get to read books i’d never have bought in book sales or bookstores, and when i have a really good read i’d even photocopy the book. i know it’s illegal but it’s the best i can do. when i find an affordable copy of that book, i’d buy it and give away the photocopied one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

