Be Fab with BAFAB II

It’s that time of the year again (well, it happen four times, after all) to give a friend a book for no good reason. If you’ve read my previous post about it, you’d know I have a lil special way of celebrating Buy A Friend A Book Week, which is to give them books I don’t want anymore from my bookshelf.

You might wonder isn’t that defeating the purpose? Perhaps, but I also think that giving doesn’t necessarily need to be something new. And through my method, I get to:

1. clear some space for new books in my bookshelf
2. make a friend’s day
3. not spend any money (technically, I did spend it to acquire the book but obviously I do not spend any at this moment in time)
4. not waste my money if she doesn’t like the book

And I so believe in karma.

Anyway, this quarter I have given 6 books to 5 classmates: I Am David by Anne Holm (photostated copy); Why Do They Hate Me?: Young Lives Caught in War & Conflict compiled by Laurel Holliday; Crazy by Benjamin Lebert; Frenchtown Summer by Robert Cormier (photostated copy); The Pelican Brief by John Grisham;and Tales of the Unexpected by Roald Dahl (photostated copy).

I have also donated four books to a private library: Bronte’s Story by Bronte McCullis & Steve Bibb; Wild Animus by Rich Shapero; She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb; and The Graduate by Charles Webb.

That’s a perfect 10!

Related post

April 2, edit: See what I mean about karma? I received a book in the post today! It’s from a blog competition where I was one of the winners.

msc
Blind Dates Can Be Murder by Mindy Starns Clark

It feels really nice to give away books, but it cannot beat the feeling of receiving a book from someone who’s practically a stranger, and a brand-new book at that! She paid about RM30 worth of postage fees so she could send this book. I’m just so unbelievably happy and grateful.

A big thank you goes out to Rebecca Luella Miller!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tina
    Apr 01, 2007 @ 22:32:49

    i did try that once.. but only to a few people and gave out 4-5 books per person. hehe. 🙂 nice idea…

    sulz: i thought it was okay to give one person more than one book, but i’ve decided not anymore from now on; the point is to make as many people’s day with a gift of a book. you should try e-mailing your friends about your book giveaway, i had good response from that method.

    Reply

  2. Gavin
    Apr 17, 2007 @ 14:56:18

    Mindy Starnes Clark is a wonderful author. I’m almost finished with a book from her other series (Million Dollar Mysteries). I haven’t read this series….yet 🙂

    sulz: really? i did enjoy the book, but i wasn’t jumping for joy with it. if you’re a guy who likes “lad lit” then i wouldn’t recommend this to you, but if you’re up for anything then you could try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

