The Mile-Long Meme

Mile-long, figuratively of course.

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback?
What’s the difference between trade and mass paperbacks? I’d like hardcovers for really thick books, but mostly I prefer paperbacks because it takes up less space on the bookshelf. I also enjoy wrapping my paperbacks with plastic covers. And it’s much much cheaper than a hardcover.

Amazon or brick and mortar?
I’ve never shop in the Net even though I’m quite the mall shopper, mostly because I’m very afraid of getting books in terrible condition through mail, and I don’t own a credit card, and I lack the knowledge of safe Internet money transaction.

Barnes & Noble or Borders?
We don’t have a Barnes & Noble in Malaysia, so Borders will do very nicely. In fact, it’s one of the better bookstores here.

Bookmark or dogear?
Bookmark, OF COURSE! I only dogear when it doesn’t belong to me or my friend, and if I really have absolutely nothing to mark the page.

Alphabetize by author or alphebetize by title or random?
Author. Sometimes random, like arranging according to the height of the books.

Keep, throw away, or sell?
Depends. I give books to friends I think will read it. Otherwise, I will keep them. Then there are those I will donate eventually. I’d sell, if anyone actually wants them.

Keep dustjacket or toss it?
Of course keep it, you paid for it, for goodness’ sake!

Read with dustjacket or remove it?
Remove it, it’s too annoying to read with it.

Short story or novel?
Novels. I can only stand short stories by Roald Dahl.

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)?
Collection.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?
I am part of the masses who idolise Harry Potter.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks?
A bit of both.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”?
Once upon a time, though I don’t mind either really.

Buy or Borrow?
Borrow. I prefer to borrow all books, so that if I really like it then I shall spend my money wisely. If I hate it, then I would be glad I did not waste my money.

New or used?
Honestly? Whichever is cheaper. But some books have to be new, like my Harry Potters and Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse?
My steadfast rule is only buy books I have read before and loved. I broke this rule with Hawkes Harbor by S. E. Hinton because she’s one of my favourite authors and the reviews were good. Initially I didn’t like the book, but after reading it, I appreciate her craft even more.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger?
I absolutely loathe cliffhangers! Unless there’s a sequel to it. Otherwise, please tie the ending up nicely. I need to know if the characters will be okay.

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading?
It doesn’t matter, if the book’s good nothing can stop me, not even exams. In fact, books just seem more readable during the exam season!

Standalone or series?
I prefer standalone or a few sequels as opposed to a The Bold and the Beautiful literary equivalent of series, because once I start collecting I have to collect them all. Which is why I have amassed over a hundred of the Sweet Valley Twins & Friends series. I pity my father’s pocket, but I’m eternally grateful for his sacrifice that basically planted the seeds of being a lifelong reader.

Favorite series?
Harry Potter and Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series. In my tweens, Sweet Valley and Fear Street.

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard?
The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton seems to be pretty unheard of.

Favorite books read last year?
The one that crosses my mind now is The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse. That’s another book I broke my steadfast book buying rule. I have not read it before but I bought it because I like the cover which has a dolphin in it; I thought I would love anything with a dolphin in it. And yes, I love it and more; one of my favourite books, honestly.

Favorite books of all time?
Ridiculous question, my head would spin if I am really going to attempt this. My regular readers would know anyway the few favourite books that I mention over and over again. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SilverNeurotic
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 07:28:25

    Nice meme, I think I’m gonna borrow it.

    sulz: sure! maybe you could send a link or trackback so others can have a look at yours. 🙂

    Reply

  2. ~lara
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 12:17:39

    V. cool meme! I’d like to borrow as well. I’ll post up a link. 🙂

    sulz: borrow all you want. thanks for the link back!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Mile-Long Meme « West of the Moon

Leave a Reply

