MPH Distributors Warehouse Sale

Before I show you my books bought from the warehouse sale, I want to show you the even better books I borrowed. It’s been ages since I last borrowed books, so it’s probably isn’t a surprise that I borrowed 8 from a private library that I usually go to. The stack was half my height when I came out of the library room.

Anybody Out There? by Marian Keyes
The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith
How to be Good by Nick Hornby
High Fidelity by Nick Hornby
Plague by Jean Ure
White Fang by Jack London
The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13¾ by Sue Townsend
Wicked! by Jilly Cooper

I bought these books recently too.

Tuesday’s Child by Louise Bagshawe. Only RM1 because they sell books with multiple copies at the private library I go to. What a steal! The synopsis sounds good too.
Hawkes Harbor by S. E. Hinton. A friend had 20% discount at a bookstore for any books, so she kindly helped me complete my S. E. Hinton collection, even though it was a bit pricey after the discount. But it’s hard to find, so it’s okay.
The Twits by Roald Dahl
Weekend in Paris by Robyn Sisman. Bought through a promotion by a new branch of a bookstore chain in Malaysia.

Ok, now the warehouse sale. I bought:

1. The Wishing Chair Collection by Enid Blyton for RM22. That’s RM5 less than The Faraway Tree Collection I got from Times the Bookshop Warehouse Sale.
2. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie for RM19. Usual price is RM30.
3. Collins Portuguese Mini Dictionary for RM9. Still cannot beat the Collins Italian Dictionary I bought from Times the Bookshop Warehouse Sale for RM10, and a bigger edition, albeit quite dated. But it is really good, I tell you.
4. The Ponderous Postcards from Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events for RM5. I collect postcards. This cannot beat Big Bookshop‘s postcard books selling for RM1!

It’s an OK warehouse sale to go to because the usual general fiction book which are selling at RM32.90 are going between RM20 – RM25, that’s more than 30% off, and they’re in mint condition. Dusty though. The warehouse sale ends this weekend (March 4). A little tip: do not go during lunch hours on weekdays, thinking that nobody will go there as it is a work day. I was never so wrong. Took me ages to find a suitable spot to double park and worry about being a nuisance while searching through hundreds of books. The best time for these sort of places is as soon as it opens during the weekend, you can never go wrong or worry about parking.

I feel strangely unexcited about my purchases this time around. Must be because of all the great borrowed books waiting for me impatiently, because unlike books I own, they have a deadline.

My social life is officially in a coma until I finish this lot.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lydia Teh
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 11:55:01

    Sulz, what’s the private library you go to? Great collection!

    sulz: it’s here. they have a “headquarters” set up in bangsar. i have to pay rm1 for each book i borrow for a month.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Big Bookshop Warehouse Clearance Sale « The Literary Pursuit

Leave a Reply

