A Quickie Meme

What is the book that changed your life?
No book can change my life, it can only change my perception of life. For that I can safely say there are too plenty to take note of, but the ones I have listed as my favourites should have changed my perceptions somewhat.

What is the last book you didn’t bother finishing?
Right now, Mark Winegardner’s sequel to Mario Puzo’s The Godfather is hanging in limbo. I have no motivation to finish it, even after watching The Godfather I & II.

What is the best book you were forced to read at school?
I didn’t like it when I had to study for it, but when my teacher explained what happens in between the lines, I appreciated the beauty of Jack Schaefer’s Shane, a western story told in the eyes of a ten-year-old. I loved these short stories when I had to study them for literature, which is O. Henry’s The Last Leaf, Henry Slesar’s Examination Day and Rabindranath Tagore’s The Man From Kabul. Please read them for my sake. I think they’re so wonderfully crafted.

What is the best movie adaptation of a book?
Hands down, The Lord of the Rings trilogy. (Probably because I couldn’t finish the book.) I dare anyone to suggest anything better!

… Okay, The Godfather comes pretty close to it too.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brendan
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 11:03:43

    What is the book that changed your life? “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance”… although I forgot why. Time for a re-read!

    What is the last book you didn’t bother finishing? “The Corrections” by Jonathan Franzen…although I don’t know why I stopped reading it. I loved it. The characters are still very vivid. I could probably pick it up where I left off and immediately begin enjoying it again… six years after I put it down!

    What is the best book you WISH YOU were forced to read at school? “To Kill a Mockingbird”. I never read it in school. I just read it for the first time 3 years ago. What a great book! I can see why it was on many list as the best novel of the 2oth Century.

    What is the best book you were forced to read at school? Hmmmm… Lots.. for different reasons. ‘Forest Gump’, because the book was terrible and the movie wonderful. ‘The Hours’ maybe. Or perhaps ‘Adaptation’ for shear creative brilliance, boldness and latitude. I do love LOTR. But I never read the books so I can’t claim them. The best of them was ‘Fellowship of the Ring’, hands down.

    sulz: thanks for sharing! was forrest gump the book that bad? not that it will stop me from reading it, i have to read it for myself just how bad! i mean, how can it be, the movie was so wonderful…

    Reply

  2. Brendan
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 11:05:35

    Whoops! That last paragraph’s question was miscopied. It was supposed to be “What is the best movie adaptation of a book?”

    Reply

  3. hospitalcorners
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 22:21:53

    Ditto on the Godfather book… zzz although I LOVED the movies but then I’m a big De Niro and Paccino fan. The Man From Kabul I haven’t read, yet. So, for your sake, I will.

    Best adaptation of a book? Mmm, yeah you’re right, Lord of the Rings is wonderful, truly magnificent. It has everything and can be watched over and over and over again.

    Another believable adaptation is Alice Walker’s ‘The Color Purple’. I was also lucky enough to see the musical version on Broadway last year and it was one of the most moving, spiritual and uplifting experiences of my life. We were visitors in a strange town and this encounter with God, for that is what it was, set the tone for our visit to church the next day. Was I disappointed or not surprised to find that worship was sterile and systematic? Not surprised but also disappointed. It was something we talked about for a long time afterwards. I digress, sorry.

    My favourite book is most likely to be Harper Lee’s ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ which, incidentally, I read for the first time several years ago. Ernest Hemingway’s memories of living in Paris in the 1920’s gathered together in ‘A Moveable Feast’ is also worth a read. It is a book that is warm, beautiful and in some parts recollectionof a deeply personal nature. A time when he was unknown and poor and a time when he discovered his future as a writer.

    I’m not sure if you’ve read Memoirs of a Geisha or indeed seen the movie. If not, do so … fascinating, beautiful, evocative, perfect and of another world.

    I’ve not long finished White Fang (Jack London) and at the minute I’m trying, without much success, to get through ‘Far From the Madding Crowd’. It’s just too dull. Bridget Jones is about as much as I can cope with. And why not!?

    Nearly forgot! You don’t have to be a poetry lover to appreciate the beauty of ‘Mental Flight’ by Ben Okri. ‘Free-flowing, accessible … Okri is provocative, rousing, often persuasive’ (The Times). Try it!!!

    Ok, I’ll shut up now.

    sulz: please do, you will love the story! i haven’t watch the movie, but i quite like the color purple, it was really different than what i usually read, and i enjoyed the experience. memoirs of a geisha is one book i read over and over again, and i’ve watched the movie too because michelle yeoh is a fellow malaysian, have to show a bit of support… i’m looking out for white fang.

    feel free to ramble on in future, i don’t mind. 😉

    Reply

  4. Mark
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 10:42:19

    The Shawshank Redemption is probably the best short story adaption of Stephen King’s story, Rita Hayworth.

    A long story adaption is kind of a hard question here.

    sulz: what’s so hard? it’s the lotr trilogy, hands down! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

