Poetry Meme

1. The first poem I remember reading/hearing/reacting to was :
Can’t remember, probably some soppy love poem.

2. I was forced to memorize (name of poem) in school and……..
We never had to memorise poems in school. That’s Malaysian education for you.

3. I read poetry because….
I don’t read poetry per se. But when I see one I read it because well, I like to read.

4. A poem I’m likely to think about when asked about a favorite poem is …….
Wordsworth’s She Dwelt Among the Untrodden Ways.

5. I write/don’t write poetry, but…………..
I used to write poetry, but they’re so soppy or amateurish that am too ashamed to show to anyone. I did write a storybook in free verse, if that counts as poetry.

6. My experience with reading poetry differs from my experience with reading other types of literature…..
It’s very raw. It’s expression of emotions or thoughts stripped to the bare minimum of words. You don’t necessarily have a good vocabulary to understand the message of a poem.

7. I find poetry…..
By reading blogs.

8. The last time I heard poetry….
Was at my English class. We had to recite a love poem of our choice.

9. I think poetry is like….
Another language for the artsy intellectual.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lovelyloey
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 00:50:03

    Fortunately this is not a tagging-sort of meme, because if you had tagged me, I’d have to respond “I don’t read poetry” for all questions. LOL.
    But I respect poems. Like they are this other art form that I can never dabble with, like abstract art or something.

    nylusmilk: actually, i’m not that poetic myself – filler post la this is, to fill up that meme category.

    but i think poems are the easier question to answer in a literature paper than a prose question.

    Reply

  2. danielle30
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 20:11:15

    I love your response for what you think poetry is…very simple but real response!

    nylusmilk: thanks. 🙂 would be interested to read what your answers are to this meme if you would participate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

