J. R. R. Tolkien – Michael Coren

jrrt

Michael Coren is also the author of biographies of G. K. Chesterton, H. G. Wells, C. S. Lewis, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. He is a radio and television broadcaster and syndicated columnist based in Toronto.

The book in one sentence: A biography of J. R. R. Tolkien, author of only the most amazing work of fiction, The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Who would you recommend it to: Everybody. I’m serious. Well, everybody who knows Tolkien.

Best bits: About his loving relationship with his wife, Edith, and his time at Oxford. And also about his friendship with C. S. Lewis.

Boring bits: None. Even the chapter about his parents is quite interesting.

Verdict: An excellent read for a biography. It is neither too long nor too short. I like the fact that the photos were scattered throughout the book instead of the typical format of placing all photos in the centre of a book, it makes the book seems short and not so tedious to read. I’m so glad I bought this, and only for RM10!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ageekgirl
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 13:24:08

    Thanks for the heads up on this biography! I’ll definitely check it out, and my compare it to Humphrey’s bio that I’ve already read. And thanks for the comment on my blog!

    sulz: no problem, thank you for replying in kind too! 🙂

    Reply

  2. ~lara
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 12:11:47

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and letting me know about Coren’s book. I’ve often seen it but never bought it. I’ll definitely have a closer look when I go to the bookshop! Hey, you’ve read some interesting books. I’ll have to hang out here more often! 🙂

    sulz: likewise. actually i thought i’m going to regret buying it because i’m not even that big a tolkien fan in the first place, i was just attracted because it was cheap for a hardcover, and it is tolkien… but i love it. one of the better biographies i’ve read.

    Reply

  3. Pascal
    Apr 23, 2007 @ 20:47:30

    Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and especially for flagging up the biography, seems very comprehensive and is now on my list of things to buy. If I may I would like to suggest that your visitors also have a look at my review of ‘There and Back Again’ by Steve Astin on http://landofthekami.wordpress.com/2007/01/26/book-review-there-and-back-again/

    All the best

    nylusmilk: likewise, and you certainly may. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

